bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: Static Routing Help  (Read 4046 times)

Offline sawild

YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Static Routing Help
« on: June 30, 2014, 09:58:27 pm »
I'm not a developer or IT expert. Thought I should start with that before I get to my question.

My apple TV is hardwired. As is my Almond Router. With my last router (set-up by an AV guy) with my phone on wifi, I was able to control my apple tv despite it being connected by ethernet.

I'm assuming, that I can re-enable this option by creating a static routing rule. However, I cannot for the life of me get it to work.

My Apple TV is connected to IP 10.0.1.3, Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0, Router 10.0.1.1

When I input that in static routing I get the "Netmask and Route Address Conflict" error.

Help!

Offline pete

YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Static Routing Help
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2014, 08:34:28 am »
I am not familiar with an Apple TV box. 

What is the IP of the Apple TV? (Is it configured for a static or DHCP address?)
[img width= height= alt=" width="250" height="52" class="bbc_img resized]http://forum.securifi.com/Themes/Firox_multicolor_by_SMFSimple/images/logo.png[/img]
Pete
Lockport, IL  USA

Offline sawild

YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2014, 11:36:55 am »
It's currently using DHCP. But I could change it to a static IP.

Offline pete

YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2014, 11:37:41 am »
Here initially updated the Almond with most current firmware and installed it on one interface on the firewall that I am using; IE: PFSense.

Added the Avahi service to the firewall.  Note too that I previously had mentioned that I do not have an Apple TV box here.  I do have Apple products here but they are not utilized.