Choose style:

Author Topic: VPN on a specific network  (Read 22005 times)

Offline adx

• Backer
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
VPN on a specific network
« on: August 15, 2013, 03:14:06 pm »
I'm no expert on VPN or networking, so I hope my question/request makes sense.

I was wondering if the Almond+ can support a feature where a VPN connection
can be established (and shared) on a specific network (e.g. 2.4Ghz network) while
keeping the other network (e.g. 5Ghz) on a "normal" connection.

I currently use a DDWRT router and whenever I use VPN, I experience a great reduction
in speed. This is ok for my own purposes, but since I share the internet connection
with others, they also take a performance hit (on their "normal" internet use)
until I disabled VPN.

So if Almond+ can somehow "isolate" the VPN connection on one network (2.4ghz),
then the other users in my network can just connect on the non-VPN network (5ghz)
and enjoy the "full" internet speed.

Offline pete

Re: VPN on a specific network
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2013, 03:21:54 pm »
Yup

One of the other issues relating to IPSec VPN and sometimes SSL VPN is the throughput and size of the pipe.   Its kind of an "all you can eat" type of connection.

This is where sometimes an SSL VPN is chosen over an IPSec VPN methodology.

IE: you can set QOS rules as it leaves the source but cannot see inside of the pipe to dynamically change it while active.

Another issue that crops up is split tunneling; say you want to print from the VPN tunnel network to a local printer not on the same subnet and not in the VPN tunnel.  Strict adherence dings the flexibilty; the chicken and the egg thing; a sort of circumvention of what the purpose of the VPN is for.

Please correct me if I am misunderstanding
« Last Edit: August 15, 2013, 03:27:16 pm by pete »