bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: Almond+ IPv6?  (Read 24151 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dalrain

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 15/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Almond+ IPv6?
« on: July 19, 2014, 09:33:09 pm »
Hello,
I'm really excited about my Almond+, it's SO much faster than anything I had before.  It works well, and the interface is coming along nicely through the dev process.

That said, I'm a Comcast customer at current, and in their IPv6 service area.  I wanted to try out native IPv6, but I'm having trouble seeing how I should set it up.  Are there any instructions on that somewhere, or is IPv6 not yet implemented, or some other news someone could give me?

Thanks!

EDIT: You can find a set of instructions for IPv6 on Comcast in this post: http://forum.securifi.com/index.php?topic=1238.msg3776#msg3776

I take no responsibility for the config, or safety of the firewall rules.  Use at your own risk!
« Last Edit: August 05, 2014, 06:46:13 pm by dalrain »

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Almond+ IPv6?
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2014, 10:00:18 pm »
IPv6 support is implemented, but I'm going to have to have the software team help put together some instructions as I don't have access to an IPv6 network, so I haven't had the opportunity to try and set things up.
 

Offline dalrain

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 15/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond+ IPv6?
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2014, 01:16:32 am »
Awesome!  So glad to hear it!  I look forward to seeing the docs.

Offline summat

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 26/09/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond+ IPv6?
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2014, 10:46:16 am »
Pretty sure Comcast use DHCP to give a /128 for the WAN interface, and a /64 delegation for the LAN interface.

I've not got my Almond+ yet though so can't tell you how to enter those settings.

Offline dalrain

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 15/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond+ IPv6?
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2014, 02:28:11 am »
I'm presuming that whatever configuration is required is probably done in OpenWRT, it doesn't look like the native interface has everything just yet.  So I may try to figure it out based on that, though a cursory glance tells me it may be non-obvious for the novice. Hmm..

Offline dalrain

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 15/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond+ IPv6?
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2014, 12:50:44 am »
Any updates on this?  Still looking for Almond+ specific instructions, I haven't had much luck on the OpenWRT side of the house.

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Almond+ IPv6?
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2014, 01:59:56 am »
Sorry, still waiting for someone from the software team to provide instructions.

Offline dalrain

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 15/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond+ IPv6?
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2014, 01:02:37 am »
Edit: I didn't know what I was talking about in this post.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2014, 06:37:39 pm by dalrain »

Offline dalrain

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 15/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond+ IPv6?
« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2014, 01:39:35 am »
Edit: I was still discovering syntax in this post.  Deleted for brevity/errors.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2014, 06:38:32 pm by dalrain »

Offline dalrain

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 15/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond+ IPv6?
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2014, 01:54:36 am »
And now to respond to myself yet again, I see that the /etc/config/dhcp6c file is a UCI config, which is supposed to be used to generate the "real" config, but it looks like the config it generates doesn't correspond to what I have in the UCI config.

Offline dalrain

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 15/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond+ IPv6?
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2014, 02:21:36 am »
Nevermind, no bug here.  Found these are IDs, not booleans when the config is written.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2014, 03:57:05 am by dalrain »

Offline dalrain

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 15/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond+ IPv6?
« Reply #11 on: July 31, 2014, 03:33:05 am »
More information, Almond+ by default has ip6tables which doesn't allow dhcp6c, I found this out by disabling it entirely, but then backed it on.

Found this thread which gave me a custom rule to allow it: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=591630#c1

Code: [Select]
# This file is interpreted as shell script.
# Put your custom iptables rules here, they will
# be executed with each firewall (re-)start.

/usr/sbin/ip6tables -A INPUT -m state --state NEW -m udp -p udp --dport 546 --sport 547 -s fe80::/10 -d fe80::/10 -j ACCEPT

Now I can DHCP an address on the WAN side.  Hurray!

Offline summat

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 26/09/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond+ IPv6?
« Reply #12 on: July 31, 2014, 08:10:02 am »
Nice to see you're making some progress.

So is your WAN now getting and address via DHCP6 from your ISP? Just the delegation needing to be solved?

Offline dalrain

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 15/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond+ IPv6?
« Reply #13 on: July 31, 2014, 03:15:09 pm »
It is, and the delegation works now, too, actually.  I will post configs for Comcast when I get back tonight, but I think ip6tables is broken due to conntrack not functioning as intended.  (Of course, you can turn the firewalls off, but that's a..less great idea.)

Offline dalrain

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 15/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond+ IPv6?
« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2014, 04:26:06 pm »
Does anyone know the kernel version the almond+ is running offhand?  I don't have mine in front of me, but I wanted to see if I could verify a theory that connection tracking might be broken in the kernel with ipv6.  Apparently it didn't work until version 2.6.20+ when they switched to xtables.

 

Page created in 0.061 seconds with 18 queries.

bottleneck