Choose style:

Author Topic: Use attached device as a NAS  (Read 16898 times)

Offline mparadis

• Backer
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Use attached device as a NAS
« Reply #15 on: September 23, 2014, 09:46:05 am »
I'm new to setting up network attached storage but have a question about this. If I set this server up to turn existing external hard drives into NAS, can I access those drives / files from anything besides my windows computer? I am looking at Android and IOS as I utilize both. If I do this will everyone on my network have access to these files or will the password be required for anyone trying to login?  I am also wondering if there is a way I could set this up to be a personal "cloud" by providing remote access while not on my home network. I have experience port forwarding and have a DDNS service running so I can access other services in my residence already. Thanks!

LGNilsson

« Reply #16 on: September 23, 2014, 11:18:37 am »
Longer term, yes, although as of right now, it's quite feature complete and we're working on improving things. I'd say you should give it a couple of firmware releases before this is up to the kind of levels you're asking for.
Right now for example we only support a single user account, with a single password, no real mobile device support or WAN side support.

Offline matt

• Backer
« Reply #17 on: September 23, 2014, 11:38:32 am »