Choose style:

Author Topic: Different LAN and WAN IP-address possible?  (Read 3756 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MaMue

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 03/09/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Different LAN and WAN IP-address possible?
« on: September 03, 2013, 10:43:38 am »
 I tried to set up Almond as router inside another network without internet provider but wasn't able to set up a WAN adress different from the LAN adress!
« Last Edit: September 04, 2013, 02:00:05 am by pete »

Offline Patrick Wilson

  • Cashew
  • ****
  • Posts: 220
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 21/07/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Different LAN and WAN IP-adress possible?
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2013, 05:49:52 pm »
I tried to set up Almond as router inside another network without internet provider but wasn't able to set up a WAN adress different from the LAN adress!

I'm afraid I don't quite understand what you are trying to accomplish (your question provides no details of the network configuration),  but this should not be a problem.  If the upstream network,  isn't providing DHCP service you might have to manually configure the WAN address on the Almond,  but it most definitely should be able to isolate a subnet from the main network.   

It is probably dependent on the "mode" your Almond is configured in.  Remember your Almond presently supports "Router",  "Range Extender",  "Access Point" and even "Wireless WAN" mode.  If I had a better understanding of your network configuration perhaps I could assist you further.  If you don't receive satisfactory answers here in the Forum,  please feel free to contact our Technical Support team.   
« Last Edit: September 03, 2013, 05:51:31 pm by Patrick Wilson »
Patrick Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada

Offline pete

  • Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 316
  • Thanks: 2
  • Registered : 22/07/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Different LAN and WAN IP-address possible?
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2013, 01:48:59 am »
I tried to set up Almond as router inside another network without internet provider but wasn't able to set up a WAN adress different from the LAN adress!

Try this: (will attach pictures)

1 - configure your Almond as a router and connect the WAN interface to your network
2 - let the WAN interface get a DHCP address (make sure your outside network provides DHCP)
3 - your wireless network will be automatically created. 

Default is:

Gateway: 10.10.10.254
Mask: 255.255.255.0
DNS: 10.10.10.254
DHCP Scope: 10.10.10.100-10.10.10.200

4 - I went back to the network configuration and changed it:

Gateway: 10.10.10.254
Mask: 255.255.255.248
DNS: 10.10.10.254
DHCP Scope: 10.10.10.249-10.10.10.253

5 - In the Almond gui change your firewall access to allow management through the WAN interface (if you want to manage the Almond from the outside network)

6 - If you want to change your external network Almond IP; then statically assign the MAC address to an IP.

7 - You will have a separate WAN IP address and a NAT'd subnet on the Almond and be able to manage the Almond from both subnets.

8 - Note: If you external network is not connected to the internet then your Almond will show that in the status and touchscreen interface.

9 - I tested the Almond wireless connection through the firewall to the outside network servers and it worked fine.

« Last Edit: September 04, 2013, 02:26:51 am by pete »
[img width= height= alt=" width="250" height="52" class="bbc_img resized]http://forum.securifi.com/Themes/Firox_multicolor_by_SMFSimple/images/logo.png[/img]
Pete
Lockport, IL  USA

 

Page created in 0.081 seconds with 22 queries.