Choose style:

Author Topic: Linear WD500Z (Wall Dimming Switch)  (Read 16629 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bwainscott

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Linear WD500Z (Wall Dimming Switch)
« on: August 19, 2014, 10:52:09 pm »
This shows up as an unsupported device, and there is no ability to do anything with it from the web interface.  From the touchscreen UI there are options to "get" and "set" a numeric value.  Setting a 0 turns it off, and setting higher numbers turns it on at various levels of brightness, so it does know how to talk to this device.  It just has no idea that it is a dimmer light switch.  Hey Securifi -- please pick up one of these while you are at it.  They are the best deal I've seen on what looks like a good dimmer switch here in the US, and I plan to buy several of them!

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Linear WD500Z (Wall Dimming Switch)
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2014, 05:14:11 am »
Do me a favour, add it to your Almond+, once done, go to Help, Send Logs and send a log. In the text box, please add the name of the sensor.
If it's not something really strange, we might just be able to add support for it this way, since we already support dimmers.

Offline bwainscott

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Linear WD500Z (Wall Dimming Switch)
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2014, 08:53:08 am »
Lars -- Done.  I just removed the sensor, then added it again.  It first appeared as "UnknownDevice #7" or something like that.  I renamed it "FamilyRoom" and sent the log.  I put the following in the comment field of the log: "unknown device FamilyRoom is dimmer switch"

I hope that helps!

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Linear WD500Z (Wall Dimming Switch)
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2014, 10:04:22 am »
Ah, I wanted you to put Linear WD500Z in the send log window. Renaming the sensor doesn't matter.
Can you please re-send the log? Sorry if I wasn't being clear.

Offline bwainscott

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Linear WD500Z (Wall Dimming Switch)
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2014, 04:49:48 pm »
Log resent, with description "Linear WD500Z"

(I removed and re-added it again).

Thanks!

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Linear WD500Z (Wall Dimming Switch)
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2014, 06:10:25 am »
Cool, I've made sure they're aware of it.

Offline bgate

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 25/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Linear WD500Z (Wall Dimming Switch)
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2014, 12:24:03 am »
I've got this one too - hoping to get some supported actions from it as it looks fairly significant from the specs - let me know if you need anything else, I would be happy to send.
B

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Linear WD500Z (Wall Dimming Switch)
« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2014, 01:39:07 am »
Mind sharing the manual if you have it?

Offline bwainscott

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Linear WD500Z (Wall Dimming Switch)
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2014, 06:21:22 pm »
Hoping for support for this in a future firmware (R67?), but I was wondering if there is anything I can do about this myself.  The LCD allows me to get/set values which DO control the light, so it looks to me like a case of the A+ just not recognizing the device type, since it can clearly talk to it.  Is there some kind of database or configuration file on the A+ somewhere that maps device ID strings to device type/capability?  I don't imagine support for every single device out there has to be hard coded into the firmware (that would be a nightmare).

If there is a database like this that the users can play with, we'd love to help broaden the sensor support base.  I tutorial on how to add sensors (assuming the basic support for that sensor type is in the firmware) would be VERY nice...

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Linear WD500Z (Wall Dimming Switch)
« Reply #9 on: October 24, 2014, 05:52:16 am »
I don't think it'll be in R067 as they've worked on a million and one other things, but it should be in R068.

Offline underscore

  • Peanut
  • **
  • Posts: 14
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 19/09/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Linear WD500Z (Wall Dimming Switch)
« Reply #10 on: October 24, 2014, 12:51:04 pm »
Just want to note that these dimmers are the same as Evolve LRM-AS dimmers (Evolve rebranded Linear products).

Evolve LRM-AS == Linear WD500Z
Evolve LTM-5 == Linear WT00Z1
Evolve LSM-15 == Linear WS15Z-1

For details, see (http://goo.gl/XcNMIQ).

Offline sunnyc90

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 17/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Linear WD500Z (Wall Dimming Switch)
« Reply #11 on: November 08, 2014, 09:51:30 am »
I don't think it'll be in R067 as they've worked on a million and one other things, but it should be in R068.

Lars,

Can you give us a definitive answer if this will be supported in R068? I understand your team have a ton of things to work on but if this is just a simple line of code (I'm assuming here, since you mentioned you already support dimmers), why is it taking almost 3 months to implement? Just trying to get some answers, don't get me wrong here.

Thank you!

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Linear WD500Z (Wall Dimming Switch)
« Reply #12 on: November 08, 2014, 10:01:40 am »
No, it won't be in R068, since that'll technically be R067 now.
I'll do my best to get it into the next firmware though and it really shouldn't be that hard...

Offline bwainscott

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 138
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Linear WD500Z (Wall Dimming Switch)
« Reply #13 on: November 08, 2014, 10:46:20 pm »
Yes please (for support in R069)!  I have two of these (and plans for several more) but only one installed -- I didn't see any point in installing the others until the A+ can talk to the one I have.  Any chance that the matching WT00Z-1 will be supported also (required for 3-way operation)?  Most of my existing switches are 3 way...

Looking forward to firmware R069....


Offline lobstersushi

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 20/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Linear WD500Z (Wall Dimming Switch)
« Reply #14 on: November 16, 2014, 04:43:44 am »
I just updated to R069 and it seems the Linear switch support didn't make it into this build.  Any updates on will this will be supported?  Thanks.

 

Page created in 0.048 seconds with 17 queries.

bottleneck