bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: Unusually high number of garbled packets since installing R65  (Read 48838 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline erocm123

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 24/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Unusually high number of garbled packets since installing R65
« Reply #15 on: August 24, 2014, 03:59:22 pm »
I am having the same issues. I got my Almond+ a few days ago, immediately upgraded it to the new firmware, and put it into access point mode. Things I am seeing:

Netflix & Plex on the Chromecast often stop playing video.
Many downloads are corrupt.
Putty SSH connections sometimes fail with: Incorrect MAC received on packet
Remote Desktop sessions sometimes fail with some strange error about encryption.

One night I told Co-Pilot on android to do GPS map updates. I woke up and saw that it had not finished. I watched it and it would get to about 120MB or so into the update and then start over. After seeing this a couple of times I canceled the update and looked at my bandwidth accounting system and my Android device had done 40GB of data transfers throughout the night. My home ISP has bandwidth limitations and overage charges so this was not something that I want to see happening.


Offline reedog117

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 22/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Unusually high number of garbled packets since installing R65
« Reply #16 on: August 24, 2014, 05:25:33 pm »
I got the Almond+ to garble a packet, but I can't figure out where on the unit I can find logs that might provide me a bit more insight? Any Securifi staff members want to help me out in tracking this down?

I also tried setting up logging via the OpenWRT interface via System > System and going to the Logging tab, but nothing is showing up on the syslog server on my network.  In addition I tried doing a 'tail -f /var/*.log' on the Almond+ itself but didn't see anything relevant related to connections.

Scenario:
  • Almond+ in AP Mode
  • 2 different Linksys WUMC710 802.11ac bridges connected with Tivos on each one
  • Have a process continuously downloading shows to a wired Ethernet machine on my network at maximum speed (tops out an around 30Mbps per TiVo)
  • Have another process doing the repeated file transfer script mentioned above from a wired VM to a MacBook Pro also connected via WiFi to the Almond+
  • On the MacBook Pro also downloading random DMG files from adobe.com -- all of which are showing as corrupted when I try to open them

Proof that packets are getting garbled:
Code: [Select]
pc-macbook:~ pat$ while true; do nc -l 1337 > 250MBtestfile-recv ; md5 250MBtestfile-recv ; done
MD5 (250MBtestfile-recv) = af565185e7267f959ff6f0dac30eea3c
MD5 (250MBtestfile-recv) = af565185e7267f959ff6f0dac30eea3c
MD5 (250MBtestfile-recv) = af565185e7267f959ff6f0dac30eea3c
MD5 (250MBtestfile-recv) = af565185e7267f959ff6f0dac30eea3c
MD5 (250MBtestfile-recv) = af565185e7267f959ff6f0dac30eea3c
MD5 (250MBtestfile-recv) = af565185e7267f959ff6f0dac30eea3c
MD5 (250MBtestfile-recv) = af565185e7267f959ff6f0dac30eea3c
MD5 (250MBtestfile-recv) = af565185e7267f959ff6f0dac30eea3c
MD5 (250MBtestfile-recv) = af565185e7267f959ff6f0dac30eea3c
MD5 (250MBtestfile-recv) = af565185e7267f959ff6f0dac30eea3c
MD5 (250MBtestfile-recv) = af565185e7267f959ff6f0dac30eea3c
MD5 (250MBtestfile-recv) = 54e0834ec35ed6b4d9e11d2f41fb5abd
MD5 (250MBtestfile-recv) = af565185e7267f959ff6f0dac30eea3c
MD5 (250MBtestfile-recv) = af565185e7267f959ff6f0dac30eea3c
MD5 (250MBtestfile-recv) = af565185e7267f959ff6f0dac30eea3c

Offline reedog117

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 22/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
I narrowed down the problem!
« Reply #17 on: August 24, 2014, 05:46:30 pm »
I narrowed down the problem! I think it has to be something related to the wireless driver, but it's actually a one-liner to recreate the same conditions that cause this error to occur.

To test, I'm just downloading a ~16MB DMG file from adobe.com -- some sort of Flash update.

On the router itself, running the following command, it seems like the file is not getting corrupted at all, so it seems that the wired connection seems to be functioning normally.

Code: [Select]
root@almond-ap:~# while true; do wget -q -O /tmp/test.dmg http://download.macromedia.com/pub/flash/updates/11_5_1/mac/Adobe-Flash-Professional-CS55-Up
date.dmg ; md5sum /tmp/test.dmg ; sleep 1 ; done
2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51  /tmp/test.dmg
2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51  /tmp/test.dmg
2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51  /tmp/test.dmg
2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51  /tmp/test.dmg
2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51  /tmp/test.dmg
2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51  /tmp/test.dmg
2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51  /tmp/test.dmg
2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51  /tmp/test.dmg
2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51  /tmp/test.dmg
2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51  /tmp/test.dmg

However, this is totally not the case when doing the same thing from my Mac:
Code: [Select]
pc-macbook:~ pat$ while true; do curl -s -o test.dmg http://download.macromedia.com/pub/flash/updates/11_5_1/mac/Adobe-Flash-Professional-CS55-Update.dmg ; md5 test.dmg ; sleep 1 ; done
MD5 (test.dmg) = 04c73ea13a0196a7e3bc4208d1ec3842
MD5 (test.dmg) = 2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51
MD5 (test.dmg) = 02b6fe08ff8f1471c54ab24d1c7f2db8
MD5 (test.dmg) = 2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51
MD5 (test.dmg) = f60d60bcede0c4d8f56bd9390ee9add3
MD5 (test.dmg) = afa022417a1320e77920acd877df3852
MD5 (test.dmg) = 2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51
MD5 (test.dmg) = 2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51
MD5 (test.dmg) = 2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51
MD5 (test.dmg) = 2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51
MD5 (test.dmg) = 2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51
MD5 (test.dmg) = 2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51

The problem seems to be exacerbated when there are multiple devices transferring data over wireless at the same time.  Errors seemed to be induced if I am performing other actions on the Internet at the same or transferring at high speeds between wireless devices on my network.  For example, running the above command on my Mac while copying a file directly off my TiVo or running a speed test on speedtest.net will cause the MD5 checksum to go all over the place.

Code: [Select]
MD5 (test.dmg) = 2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51
MD5 (test.dmg) = 2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51
MD5 (test.dmg) = 2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51
MD5 (test.dmg) = 2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51
MD5 (test.dmg) = 0bd88a269a2c31ce54ea12b5b648b641
MD5 (test.dmg) = 66a7c672172fd4c0064109b794078806
MD5 (test.dmg) = 55d43ccbc3c4e74ea9638ed4a6a43f69
MD5 (test.dmg) = 2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51
MD5 (test.dmg) = e7a82aab848a574d52fffd44054b4bfa
MD5 (test.dmg) = 2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51
MD5 (test.dmg) = 2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51
MD5 (test.dmg) = 2d9bcdfe75375cba3e63dafdce976c51
MD5 (test.dmg) = 4b0fbb945348db313a577a2c43c9ceb1

I'm guessing a buggy wireless driver is to blame?

Offline bauer.cole

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 29/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Unusually high number of garbled packets since installing R65
« Reply #18 on: August 24, 2014, 06:03:11 pm »
@reedog, are you in AP mode? Or just the default router mode?

EDIT: Realized you said A+ in AP mode in one of the recent posts. Could you try in regular/router mode to see if it gets the same? I know it seems to fix it for me, so if we can have someone else confirm maybe that will point the devs in the right direction
« Last Edit: August 24, 2014, 06:16:48 pm by bauer.cole »

Offline reedog117

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 22/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Unusually high number of garbled packets since installing R65
« Reply #19 on: August 24, 2014, 08:41:52 pm »
@reedog, are you in AP mode? Or just the default router mode?

EDIT: Realized you said A+ in AP mode in one of the recent posts. Could you try in regular/router mode to see if it gets the same? I know it seems to fix it for me, so if we can have someone else confirm maybe that will point the devs in the right direction

I just tried in regular/router mode and I can't seem to induce any corrupt packets.  However, I did notice that sometimes curl would hang when trying to download from the same site (adobe.com).

Unfortunately I can't do more extensive testing since I have a ton of other stuff in the home that I can't knock offline.

Offline pacomo

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 11/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Unusually high number of garbled packets since installing R65
« Reply #20 on: August 25, 2014, 03:32:36 pm »
I am having the same problem. Most downloads are corrupted when using the Almond+ over wi-fi. Using two other routers, the same files are downloaded correctly. I am having the same problem in both a Mac and a PC.
I am trying to download the latest version of JRiver:
http://files.jriver.com/mediacenter/channels/v19/latest/MediaCenter190163.dmg
« Last Edit: August 25, 2014, 03:46:49 pm by pacomo »

Offline mbailey

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 19/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Unusually high number of garbled packets since installing R65
« Reply #21 on: August 25, 2014, 03:47:23 pm »
Having similar issues.

I work from home, and persistent SSH connections drop several times a day.  Both on wired and wireless.

Offline erocm123

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 24/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Unusually high number of garbled packets since installing R65
« Reply #22 on: August 25, 2014, 05:06:48 pm »
mbailey, just to clarify, are in AP mode?

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Unusually high number of garbled packets since installing R65
« Reply #23 on: August 27, 2014, 11:57:00 am »
Thanks for all the feedback and work put into figuring out what's going on.
I'll have our Wi-Fi driver guy read through this thread to see if he can figure something out based on your feedback.

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Unusually high number of garbled packets since installing R65
« Reply #24 on: August 28, 2014, 08:58:36 am »
Ok, we've pin-pointed this to be an issue with the AP and it's a driver issue.
If anyone is seeing this in any other mode, please let us know ASAP.

Offline bauer.cole

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 29/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Unusually high number of garbled packets since installing R65
« Reply #25 on: August 28, 2014, 09:03:26 am »
Ok, we've pin-pointed this to be an issue with the AP and it's a driver issue.
If anyone is seeing this in any other mode, please let us know ASAP.

Glad to hear you've got it pinpointed. Any idea on how soon we'll get an update? Not trying to be pushy, I know these things can take time. I'm just really missing AP mode :)

Thanks!

jjoepaulines

  • Guest
Re: Unusually high number of garbled packets since installing R65
« Reply #26 on: August 28, 2014, 09:11:56 am »
are you using Almond plus WAN port in AP mode ?  if so , change to LAN port and try .

Offline bauer.cole

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 29/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Unusually high number of garbled packets since installing R65
« Reply #27 on: August 28, 2014, 11:13:15 am »
are you using Almond plus WAN port in AP mode ?  if so , change to LAN port and try .

I'll try to give this a shot after work this evening. But isn't the connection to the WAN port required for the mobile app connectivity and such? Or was I just imagining that when I tried it that way a couple weeks ago?
« Last Edit: August 28, 2014, 01:27:28 pm by bauer.cole »

Offline lazik

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 28/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Unusually high number of garbled packets since installing R65
« Reply #28 on: August 28, 2014, 08:42:48 pm »
I just wanted to chime in and note that I am seeing glitching video in netflix/youtube videos (If I switch to my old access point, no issues).  I am running R65 in Access Point mode...

jjoepaulines

  • Guest
Re: Unusually high number of garbled packets since installing R65
« Reply #29 on: August 28, 2014, 09:12:30 pm »
Quote
I'll try to give this a shot after work this evening. But isn't the connection to the WAN port required for the mobile app connectivity and such? Or was I just imagining that when I tried it that way a couple weeks ago?

In AP mode , All the Ethernet and WIFI interface are into the single bridge and DHCP server will listen on Bridge interface.So  if you connect with any of your "Router 1" LAN port to Almond plus [ AP mode ] LAN port,  Almond plus will serve internet to your client and it will get internet also.

-> This way it will maintain connectivity to cloud [ mobile APP ] in AP mode .


----

As of now , Please use only LAN port in AP mode

----
« Last Edit: August 28, 2014, 09:51:09 pm by Joe »

 

Page created in 0.056 seconds with 18 queries.