Choose style:

Author Topic: VLAN tagging  (Read 32160 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ShinDestinyZero

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 22/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
VLAN tagging
« on: August 22, 2014, 11:38:36 pm »
I just received my Almond+ yesterday and I'm in the midst of configuring my Internet. My ISP requires me to do VLAN tagging but in the OpenWRT UI, I can't find the Switch tab under Network option.

Is there a way to enable this or wait for Securifi to release a newer firmware which enables this option? Without this, my Almond+ won't be able to connect to the Internet.

Any solutions to this?

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2014, 11:48:45 pm »
I'm afraid I don't have an answer for you right now, but I've brought it to the attention of the software team.

Offline ShinDestinyZero

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 22/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2014, 11:55:10 pm »
Noted. Please let us, the community, know about this once there's an answer.

I saw some tutorials on the net that there's an option to configure VLANs but I was unable to find it anywhere on the Almond+.

I've attached an image as shown below for easy reference.


LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2014, 12:04:34 am »
Your picture doesn't seem to work.

Offline The19th

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 69
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 02/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2014, 12:11:02 am »
I went to the linked site, which showed zero search results.  I did find some other pictures that mentioned VLAN (Beyond my understanding)

http://blog.namran.net/2012/08/05/setting-up-openwrt-to-work-with-tm-unifi/

I also noticed that blog has screen shots from OpenWRT-Backfire

Offline ShinDestinyZero

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 22/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2014, 12:15:19 am »
@Lars That's odd. It worked when it is in preview post. But you can refer to @The19th post. Thanks btw.

This is the direct link to the picture. You can refer to this as well.
http://blog.namran.net/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/vlan-setting-unifi-1024x545.png

Sorry about the problem.

P/S: I noticed that sometimes the forum can display the picture and most of the time no. I don't know why. Just now when I refreshed the page, it did show the picture. Weird.

For my country's ISP, I need to configure to VLAN 500 and 600 respectively. 500 is for the internet and 600 is for IPTV. Without those options, my Almond+ can only be used as an AP.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2014, 12:18:53 am by ShinDestinyZero »

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2014, 12:42:11 am »
All I see is "Sorry The Post Have Been Removed".
The link The19th provided worked though.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2014, 01:24:47 am by Lars »

Offline ShinDestinyZero

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 22/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2014, 04:17:52 am »
@Lars I've tried the link too. Now it doesn't work. I guess the site don't allow such redirection. During the creation of that post, it worked though.
Then just refer to The19th's link. Let us know if there's any solutions to this. I do think there are people out there who are interested in these settings.

Offline madfozi

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 22/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #8 on: August 24, 2014, 08:06:00 pm »
good having fellow unifi user here.
-madfozi-

Offline ShinDestinyZero

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 22/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #9 on: August 25, 2014, 01:33:35 am »
@madfozi you are unifi user too? Got any solutions to share for this? If can load config file, I'm also happy with it as long as can use.

Offline Etherknight

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 26/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2014, 07:17:08 pm »
Hi All,

I got mine today and I struggled with the same issue. My ISP requires VLAN6 for WAN in order to work, since the ONT is configured by the ISP that way.
I tried adding a custom NW interface in WLAN physical settings as eth0.6 and the interface is correctly added to the list as VLAN interface, but no matter what I do I can't keep it selected and the internet connection never happen.
I've read for OpenWRT the way to set VLAN is by Network - Switch setting, but that option is not yet available and the package that adds it, swconfig, is not available for download either (I've read in another post that currently all supported packages are already included, so there is no option for additional package downloads).

I guess the problem would be solved by adding that "swconfig" package to Almond+, but please let us know if there is an alternative way to do this.

Thanks in advance for your support!

Best regards,
Ether

Offline ShinDestinyZero

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 22/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #11 on: August 26, 2014, 11:09:47 pm »
@Etherknight Thanks for the input. I was about to do that. It seems that you beat me to it.

It seems that by adding the interface alone, the problem is still present if the firmware doesn't recognize it.  :(

I've emailed this issue to Securifi few days ago and they told me that the feature will be implemented but they don't have an exact date. I guess we'll have to wait and see.

Offline madfozi

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 22/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2014, 04:23:43 am »
Hi @ShinDestinyZero. I don't think we can use it until securify add openwrt vlan tagging features. as of now i am still pairing with unifi router.
-madfozi-

Offline ShinDestinyZero

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 22/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #13 on: August 31, 2014, 12:31:30 pm »
@madfozi I see. Then I guess we have no choice but to wait for the next firmware update. Good to know that I'm not alone.  ;D

Offline DaMubbster

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 01/09/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #14 on: September 01, 2014, 05:56:54 am »
Just to add to this here in NZ all the new fiber and VDSL connections require VLAN 10.

 

Page created in 0.056 seconds with 17 queries.