Choose style:

Author Topic: Proximity Sensors?  (Read 6657 times)

Offline revolta

• Backer
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Proximity Sensors?
« on: October 10, 2014, 09:40:20 pm »
Sorry for the newbie question but I am pretty new to home automation. I am a new owner of an Almond+ and I am looking to setup something where the TV switches off if my kids go too close to it. From my limited understanding, I think I need 2 things - A zigbee/z-wave switch for automating TV On/Off and some sort of a proximity sensor/motion detector. Can anyone guide me on how I can go about doing this type of a setup using Almond+ and point me to the sensors I would need?

Offline fgtech

• Backer
Re: Proximity Sensors?
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2014, 12:12:33 am »
I was going to reply with the snarky answer that the sensor you need is an attentive parent, but where is the fun in that? This sounds like a fun project. :-)

Let me start by saying that the features you seek are not available yet as of R066 of the Almond+ firmware. Once the Securifi folks have built out the home automation features this type of thing should be possible but we're not quite there yet. The missing link you'll need is a way to say that data from input sensor A should turn off binary switch B.