bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: Cannot Connect to the Internet - Windows Vista  (Read 3460 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mike91326

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Cannot Connect to the Internet - Windows Vista
« on: September 02, 2014, 12:12:33 pm »
I have three HP laptops, two running Win 7 and one running Vista. The two Windows 7 laptops connected to the Almond+ and the internet with no problems. My Vista machine however, looks like it has connected but there is no internet connection. When I go to the "Network and Sharing Center" there is a red "X" between the Almond+ and the Internet. It also states: "Unidentified Network - Local Access Only". Here is some info on my laptop:

HP Pavilion dv7-1135nr
Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
Driver Date: 9/26/2010
Driver Version: 9.1.0.328

Based on what I have seen on different boards, I updated the Atheros driver to the above version but that did not work. I don't want to get rid of this laptop just yet so I would like to get it connected to the Almond+. BTW, I have no issues connecting to my old Netgear 802.11g router.

Please help. Thanks.

Offline apu2009

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 28/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Cannot Connect to the Internet - Windows Vista
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2014, 02:06:13 pm »
On my HTPC (Win 7), the OS was asking if I wanted to label it as a Home/Public/Work network. I wasn't able to Remote Desktop into it until I made that choice. I'm not sure if that feature was present in Vista though, try checking for that. Are you also able to ping the router?

Offline Mike91326

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Cannot Connect to the Internet - Windows Vista
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2014, 03:09:00 pm »
The Vista laptop never gives me the option of "Home/Work/Public" with the Almond+. I do get it with my old Netgear.

I cannot ping the router.

Offline Mike91326

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Cannot Connect to the Internet - Windows Vista
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2014, 03:48:11 pm »
BTW, the Almond+ has firmware R065.

ken.santos

  • Guest
Re: Cannot Connect to the Internet - Windows Vista
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2014, 05:55:29 am »
Could it be that the security encryption of the Almond+ is too new for Vista to handle?

Please try changing the encryption from (WPA/WPA2) to WPA.

You can do this by tapping on "Wireless Settings" > 2.4 GHz > Just below the "Wireless Password" you can see the "Secure" tab.

Tapping this will give you options to change the security encryption.

Offline Mike91326

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Cannot Connect to the Internet - Windows Vista
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2014, 11:17:14 am »
I will give that a try however, at work, my Vista laptop is able to connect to a router using "WPA2-Personal" security.

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Cannot Connect to the Internet - Windows Vista
« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2014, 12:20:37 pm »
Ok, try this first.

Click on Start, then Run in Windows.
Now type CMD and hit enter and you should see a black window.
In this window, type:
Code: [Select]
ipconfig /release
Then type
Code: [Select]
ipconfig /renew
This should clear out any old, cached network data and allow the notebook to get fresh data from the Almond+.

Offline Mike91326

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Cannot Connect to the Internet - Windows Vista
« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2014, 12:24:08 pm »
Well... it looks like this may have been a simple fix. I had never done a hard reboot after I flashed the updated firmware. I rebooted (little button on top) and now I can ping the Almond+ on the 2.4 band.  I wonder why my two other Win 7 laptops and my phone were able to connect before the hard reboot?

EDIT: I also ran ipconfig /release, ipconfig /renew.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2014, 02:20:58 pm by Mike91326 »

 

Page created in 0.05 seconds with 18 queries.

bottleneck