bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: Almond+ Z-wave - temperature  (Read 6253 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline maygyver

  • Kickstarter Developer
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 31/07/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Almond+ Z-wave - temperature
« on: November 09, 2013, 12:33:19 pm »
Hi,

cause of Almond+ is a little bit late , I started home automation with a Vera lite from micasaverde.

I like to tell you that the Vera unit has one big problem and I hope you won't do the same mistake.

When using Vera for setting up my heating, with thermostates and temprature Senosrs, I found one big no go thing.
Vera/MIOS is using only full values (18,19,20,21,22 .. degree), but when you try to Setup heating you need decimals (22.1, 22.2,...).
 
Sven


« Last Edit: November 09, 2013, 05:07:09 pm by maygyver »
Freelance Sysadmin from Hamburg Germany

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Almond+ Z-wave - temperature
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2013, 12:55:23 pm »
Thanks for the heads up, we'll make sure we can do 0.1 of a degree.

Offline maygyver

  • Kickstarter Developer
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 31/07/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond+ Z-wave - temperature
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2013, 05:14:54 pm »
If you even manage to get logging/and graphs to temprature values or all values out of the box you are the best.

Is there something like a condition/Action system planned?     

Freelance Sysadmin from Hamburg Germany

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Almond+ Z-wave - temperature
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2013, 10:57:02 pm »
We'll have some kind of condition/action system in place for the Almond+, but I haven't seen it yet, so sadly I can't provide any details on it right now beyond the fact that I know we'll have it.

As for logging, that should be possible, but I'm not sure we're planning graphing in the web UI at this point in time, but again, I'll talk to the software team as it's not a bad idea. Don't expect it to be there at launch though.

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Almond+ Z-wave - temperature
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2013, 05:18:38 am »
Ok, I just checked with our software team and it turns that Z-Wave as a standard is limited to full degrees only and as such it'd be impossible for us to do points of a degree. However, they'll look into if it's possible to do finer granularity for ZigBee, as it might not have the same constraints.

Offline maygyver

  • Kickstarter Developer
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 31/07/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond+ Z-wave - temperature
« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2013, 04:14:04 pm »
I am not sure, but z-wave  sends temperature values with 4 digits.
22 degree is 2200.
22,1 degree is 2210.

So you get the values and have to calculate the right way.

Example:

An Everspring  ST814 is sending its temp as a 2 byte integer value in 10th of degrees, e.g. 195 is 19.5 degrees.

From Everspring Manual:
 Temperature (C)  = (Sensor Value 1*256 + Sensor Value 2)/10
 = (1*256+49)/10 = 30.5 (C)

Temperature in decimals is possible with z-wave, please make it possible. May be you might get some disapointed customers from the others, cause they do not want to change to temperatures in decimals.

Even an Danfoss Living Connect is able to handle 21.5 degree for its setpoint. (but only 20,20.5,21,21.5 etc.)

Your front and backend should support decimals.
And we should be able to change the value calculation for each device and value easily.


Sven
« Last Edit: November 11, 2013, 04:41:33 pm by maygyver »
Freelance Sysadmin from Hamburg Germany

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Almond+ Z-wave - temperature
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2013, 01:48:44 am »
Ok, I'll have to look into this in more detail and I'll get back to you.

Offline obscurus

  • Kickstarter Developer
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 25/07/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond+ Z-wave - temperature
« Reply #7 on: December 18, 2013, 02:27:41 pm »
Interesting point you raised here Sven!

Anyone with news on that?

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Almond+ Z-wave - temperature
« Reply #8 on: December 18, 2013, 09:52:57 pm »
We're still working on our Z-Wave software, but as soon as we have finished off the UI, we'll be posting some screenshots or maybe even a video and I'll make sure we include a thermostat for that. I'm still not sure if we can do points of a degree, as I haven't had a chance to test what our software team has been working on as yet.

Offline maygyver

  • Kickstarter Developer
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 31/07/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond+ Z-wave - temperature
« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2014, 02:26:22 pm »
Any News on this?
Freelance Sysadmin from Hamburg Germany

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Almond+ Z-wave - temperature
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2014, 04:40:45 am »
We've ordered a bunch of stuff from Everspring, including the ST814, but the gear isn't arriving until early March, but if the device can do it, we'll add support for it.
We can currently get readouts of 0.5 degrees from thermostats, but we'll see about any more fine grain settings than that.
« Last Edit: February 19, 2014, 05:09:44 am by Lars »

Offline liquix

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 30/12/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond+ Z-wave - temperature
« Reply #11 on: February 20, 2014, 04:31:16 pm »
Will you also be testing a nest?

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Almond+ Z-wave - temperature
« Reply #12 on: February 20, 2014, 10:31:15 pm »
We have a nest and we'll be adding support for it, although this might happen after we've shipped the Almond+.

 

Page created in 0.047 seconds with 20 queries.