2
Choose style:

Author Topic: GE 45639 Light Switch with Dimmer (Z-Wave)  (Read 5052 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Blueiris8

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 112
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 18/05/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
GE 45639 Light Switch with Dimmer (Z-Wave)
« on: August 29, 2014, 06:59:49 pm »
Got this at Lowe's; quickly associated and everything works well.  Link below.

EDIT: control the dimmer from the Almond+ works well; however, manually using the dimmer doesn't always update the Almond+ status.

http://m.lowes.com/product?langId=-1&storeId=10702&catalogId=10051&productId=3707738&store=2907&view=detail&nValue=SEARCH
« Last Edit: August 29, 2014, 08:42:30 pm by Blueiris8 »

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: GE 45639 Light Switch with Dimmer (Z-Wave)
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2014, 01:22:45 am »
Can you go to Help in the LCD UI, then Send logs and send us a log with the sensor name once you've toggled the dimmer itself, as our software team might be able to figure out what's going wrong with the help of the logs.

Offline NCBob

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 28/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: GE 45639 Light Switch with Dimmer (Z-Wave)
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2014, 06:20:39 pm »
I just got this dimmer, and it works great.

I'm going to play around with the dimmer both manually and on the new iPhone app I just downloaded and see if I see any slow or missing status updates.

Offline Oendaril

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 19/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: GE 45639 Light Switch with Dimmer (Z-Wave)
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2014, 09:19:00 pm »
I've got a bunch of these and the regular / 3-way binary switches from GE.  These don't seem to support instant status update, so the almond+ would need some kind of polling status mechanism to get the status updates when doing manual control.  Might be able to solve a lot of these by having a polling interval setting that checks the status of all (non-battery) sensors every so often.

Edit: long past due edit, but it does appear the 45609 ge on/off switches update status despite not being instant status either so I guess this one should too.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2014, 11:59:04 pm by Oendaril »

Offline nitinchawla

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/10/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: GE 45639 Light Switch with Dimmer (Z-Wave)
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2014, 04:09:31 pm »
Dumb Question from me: I am new to Z-wave. I had a smart things hub for a few days and I only have a GE 45639 from Lowes. With the smartthings hub, it automatically detected the dimmer switch. I am not able to do that with the Almond+. Can anybody tell me if I need to do something on the switch to pair? On the almond+, I am going to "Add Sensor" and I get stuck on the Join screen because I don't know what to do next to make the switch visible

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: GE 45639 Light Switch with Dimmer (Z-Wave)
« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2014, 08:35:24 pm »
Did you remove it from the SmartThings hub first? If not, then you can remove it using the Almond+ LCD UI. Z-Wave sensors always have to be removed before you can add them. Press the button on the switch to remove/add it.

Offline nitinchawla

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/10/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: GE 45639 Light Switch with Dimmer (Z-Wave)
« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2014, 12:03:55 am »
Thanks a lot. This worked like a charm

 

Page created in 0.035 seconds with 18 queries.