bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: cant connect to homegroup when on Almond  (Read 1919 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sgilles

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 12/11/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
cant connect to homegroup when on Almond
« on: November 15, 2014, 08:40:32 pm »
I have a Netgear cable modem/router/wifi, and a new Almond.
If I connect via the Netgear wifi from my notebook, I connect to the homegroup and can access & be accessed by others on the network, but if I connect via the Almond wifi, I get internet connectivity, but no homegroup connection and cannot see or be seen by others.
All running Win7. Help.

Thanks.
Steve

Offline Ashok

  • Securifi Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2770
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 25/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: cant connect to homegroup when on Almond
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2014, 09:08:08 pm »
@ Sgilles

In order to access your homegroup connection, you have to create a seamless roaming between your main router (Netgear) and Almond. Hence, please remove "_Almond" extension from the Almond's network and then try accessing, it should work.

Offline sgilles

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 12/11/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: cant connect to homegroup when on Almond
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2014, 10:16:28 am »
I did that already.
I've tried both naming the Almond the same name as my cable/router wifi name, and something different. I am unclear which option is appropriate. With both the same name, the issue seems to go away, but i'm not sure in that case if i'm connected to my cable/router or the Almond.

Steve

Offline Ashok

  • Securifi Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2770
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 25/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: cant connect to homegroup when on Almond
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2014, 12:38:51 pm »
@ Sgilles,

In order to access network resources (Home Group), we have to ensure that devices are connected to one network. Depending upon the signal strength, we could find out if we are receiving it from Almond or main router, because it keeps changing according to the distance and location.

Offline sgilles

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 12/11/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: cant connect to homegroup when on Almond
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2014, 04:04:00 pm »
I don't understand the last response.

Currently, I have the Almond configured to connect to my cable modem/router wifi, and they share the same SSID name. I have a desktop computer connected via ethernet to cable modem/router. All running Windows 7.

If I connect via my laptop to wifi with Almond powered on, I get internet access, but cannot see desktop computer, and it cannot see laptop.
If I connect lan cable to laptop, I can see desktop computer & it can see my laptop.
If I turn Almond off, and connect to wifi from laptop, I can see desktop computer & it can see my laptop.



Offline Ashok

  • Securifi Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2770
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 25/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: cant connect to homegroup when on Almond
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2014, 05:23:43 pm »
@ sgilles,

It seems like most probably Almond is not configured properly with the modem/router wifi. In order to assist you properly could you please tap on "Status" and let us know in which mode Almond is connected and also the Advanced IP address?

 

Page created in 0.044 seconds with 19 queries.

bottleneck