Choose style:

Author Topic: REAL ETA on shipping to early backers... and what are we getting!?  (Read 22305 times)

Offline AARON

• Backer
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Is there a real ETA for shipping these?

... I paid in early March 2013... IF these actually get to be before Feb it will have been about 10 months, an ~4 months late.

What this means in the reality is that now, 801..11AC routers are common and often only cost $70 - thus the value proposition is now lower UNLESS  the ZWave & Zigbee home automation is actually really good / polished and is actual Home Automation, not 'device control + some basic scheduling' like what I'm seeing from Revolv and other start-ups promising they will change the world but only delivering less than what I've been doing myself for the past 10 years as an HA DIY hobbyist.

Questions remain... WHAT will be shipped (features/functions/etc) and WHEN?

Offline Mike

• Backer
Re: REAL ETA on shipping to early backers... and what are we getting!?
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2014, 04:10:25 am »
If you just wanted a common AC router then go get one, the almond+ is capable of so much more,.. even if functionality is limited to device control when it gets shipped, it beats current products im aware of, in cost, size and interface/connectivity. But i do hope, and believe more advanced control wil be possible, at launch or otherwise from (community) updates.

However i have to admit, its getting hard to stay patient,... it would be good to know when the developper units will be shipped and get some updates on HA part of the software.  And i have to agree with aaron, it is getting time to get some sort of eta.

Offline AARON

• Backer
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2014, 10:29:13 am »
We need an firm ETA.. AND a feature/functionality list.