Choose style:

Author Topic: Working in-wall switch for EU  (Read 1944 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline activ

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Working in-wall switch for EU
« on: February 15, 2015, 01:36:11 am »
Hey All,

Can someone point me in the direction of a working in-wall binary switch for EU (NL)?

Thanks,
activ

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Working in-wall switch for EU
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2015, 11:05:42 pm »

Offline activ

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Working in-wall switch for EU
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2015, 01:52:49 am »
Thanks, I now realise I was unclear.
What I meant was one of those that replaces the existing switch, there is no extra space behind the existing switch.

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Working in-wall switch for EU
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2015, 03:03:36 am »
I'm not aware of one for Europe. This thing would be wired to the buttons on the original switch and it seems to be the only commercially available option in Europe, most likely due to the many slightly different wall switches in the different countries. Got to love standardization...

Offline activ

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Working in-wall switch for EU
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2015, 08:03:55 am »
Yep standardisation is great (sarcastic smiley)

I was looking at something like the TKB home TKB_TZ66-S.
Have a plugin switch from them and that works fine, but I don't realy want to stick something in the wall only to find out it doesn't work.

Maybe I'll just wait a bit and try when more sensors are supported.

 

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Working in-wall switch for EU
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2015, 08:47:38 am »
Looking at the command classes it supports, it should pair as a binary switch. I wasn't aware they had in-wall products.
If I were you, I'd order one and try as I'd say it's <95% chance it'll work, just make sure you have a neutral wire to the switch.
« Last Edit: February 16, 2015, 08:53:35 am by Lars »

Offline activ

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Working in-wall switch for EU
« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2015, 09:44:39 am »
Ah, well spoted. I am missing that neutral wire and highly doubt I will manage adding it into the existing pipe.
Guess I'm out of luck then.

Thanks for the help and spotting this issue.

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: Working in-wall switch for EU
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2015, 09:59:03 am »
I know some of these things are supposed to work without a neutral, but so far I have as yet to see one that works.

 

Page created in 0.159 seconds with 22 queries.

bottleneck