bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: Moderator introduction....  (Read 3193 times)

Offline Patrick Wilson

• Cashew
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Moderator introduction....
« on: July 30, 2013, 05:16:48 am »
Greetings to everyone here in the Securifi Community Forum!   My name is Patrick Wilson,   and I have been asked by Securifi to act as one of the Moderators of these Forums.   

History:

I have a long history in computers,  including both Microsoft Windows and Linux Operating systems,  this extends back to the 1980's.  My favourite subjects when it comes to Routers is remote network management.   I have been playing with remote access to my own network since 1986.  This was the heyday of the old BBS era.  I operated a BBS back then,  which I attached to the Fidonet network.  (Yes this was the DOS/Desqview era,  as Windows was only at v2.0,  and few people played with it until it matured to Windows v3.1/v3.11), 

My main interest then,  was quite similar to interests today.  Remote Access to my network.  I built my own Router in 1991,  as I simply couldn't afford to buy a commercial one,  as they were very expensive back then.  I successful built my own Router to take advantage of my "leased-line" Internet access.  (This pre-dated Broadband Internet access in my market by a full 5 years).  It was very challenging building my own Router.  The hardware was easy enough,  a simple PC with dual Ethernet adapters,   and a serial port was all that was required.  The challenge I soon discovered was the software.