Choose style:

Author Topic: Not able to forward port  (Read 2732 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rdecartus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 30/07/2016
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Not able to forward port
« on: July 30, 2016, 12:49:42 am »
I am trying to forward port 8000 for my IP camera so that I can access it from outside of local network. I am using Guardian Expert app on my android for this purpose. I am getting connection failed message when using public IP with 8000 port. I can access the camera using local IP 10.10.10.XXX just fine.

Can anyone please help?

Offline Ashok

  • Securifi Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2770
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 25/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Not able to forward port
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2016, 11:30:48 am »
@ rdecartus,

Try to provide a static IP and then forward the port 8000 to it, that should take care of it.

Offline mparadis

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1765
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Not able to forward port
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2016, 04:46:47 pm »
Some devices, I can't speak of yours specifically, require you to use the public ip only when NOT connect to the local network. Try connecting to it through your public ip from a different network (or 3/4g if on a cell phone). Also make sure you're pointed at Your.Public.IP.Address:8000. What device are you trying to access it from? I have many ip cameras and have set up several others. Some older devices won't work with the built in webpage on mobile browsers. I am not familiar with the Guardian Expert app, is it trying to open the port? Or are you using it for some other porpuse?

Edit: Guardian Expert is an ip camera service, I highly recommend IP Cam Viewer Pro https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.rcreations.WebCamViewerPaid but the lite version is full featured but only for 6 cameras. The app is also available from the Amazon App Store. It has thousands of drivers needed for more camera brands than I could list.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2016, 04:49:37 pm by mparadis »

Offline rdecartus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 30/07/2016
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Not able to forward port
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2016, 03:54:11 pm »
Attached is my port forwarding setup in Almond. Also attached screenshot of http://www.canyouseeme.org/. It can't see my port as open.

Where am I doing wrong?

Offline rdecartus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 30/07/2016
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Not able to forward port
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2016, 03:56:04 pm »
I have blanked out last 3 digits of my public IP in above screenshot.

Offline Ashok

  • Securifi Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2770
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 25/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Not able to forward port
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2016, 07:51:25 am »
@ rdecartus,

It seems like we are not receiving public IP to the Almond+, are we using the Almond+ as primary router or is there any other router in between?

Offline mparadis

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1765
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Not able to forward port
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2016, 04:17:54 pm »
Is this set up as access point or as a router? 192..... is an internal ip address, as in it is the address for your camera, you seem to be testing the internal ip address?

Offline rdecartus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 30/07/2016
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Not able to forward port
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2016, 02:40:04 am »
192 is my public IP address. The Almond router is connected to the  provided by ISP.

Is it possible that ISP is not allowing port forwarding? I am on Surf Internet in Vancouver BC.

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2059
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Not able to forward port
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2016, 06:59:00 am »
It is possible for an ISP to block any port they want. But for the most part they do not block the ports most people need to use, or they would get complaints. You could always set a different port # if needed (8080, 8001, 8002, etc...) and just connect to those with the external IP.
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

 

Page created in 0.043 seconds with 18 queries.