Choose style:

Author Topic: Nest Protect  (Read 5748 times)

Offline RichardS

YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Nest Protect
« on: November 19, 2016, 05:05:21 pm »
I'm new to Almond and to HA. I pre-ordered the Almond 3 and a Nest Protect on Amazon back in August. Obviously, the Nest Protect arrived much sooner, and I put it into service with my pre-existing network immediately.

My Almond 3 arrived yesterday, and I set it up as a range extender just temporarily to function test and get a feel for it. It connects to the internet like it should, and accepts connections from computers, media devices, and smartphones/tablets just fine. I reset the Nest Protect, and connected it to the Almond 3. It connects to the Nest account and passes all it's system tests. The Almond 3 doesn't register it as being connected, neither on the screen UI or on the app.

Offline mparadis

• Backer
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Nest Protect
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2016, 05:11:45 pm »
The Nest ecosystem is very restricted about what it shares with other systems. I am not sure what information the Nest Protect shares with the Almond system as I don't use it. I am aware that the Nest Thermostat shares a bit more control than it used. Hopefully someone will be along shortly that has used it more extensively.

Offline fillibar

• Backer
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2016, 07:01:47 pm »
You need to link your Nest account to your Almond. Go to the devices page on the Almond 3's internal website. Go to Add, Add Nest Account. Follow the instructions and it will add your Nest devices in as HA devices.