Choose style:

Author Topic: DHCP reservations  (Read 11387 times)

Offline spooky123

• Backer
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: DHCP reservations
« Reply #15 on: December 19, 2016, 12:48:43 pm »
Second, I would have to say looking at commercial-grade gear. Cisco or such... I am by no means an expert though (although, oddly enough I do have a 48port gigabit PoE managed switch in the basement, so I am not a good example). Below is a link to an article talking about this type of thing. It is a bit dated, but the underlying concepts are still valid.

I have had older Linksys and Netgear units that supported 64 reservations so you don't necessarily need to go commercial grade, but finding out the max allowed by the device/manufacturer is not super easy to come by in consumer grade for sure. Also, I recall that on my older Linksys that number bounced both up and down at various firmware updates. The Ubiquity line of devices seems to have SOHO / Enterprise options at cost effective prices.  Obviously these don't have the home automation feature set.

Here is a recent forum link on the Netgear, just to provide supporting info, but its been a long time since I've used them.
https://community.netgear.com/t5/Nighthawk-WiFi-Routers/Max-number-of-DHCP-reservations/td-p/505163

Offline joltdude

• Backer
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
« Reply #16 on: December 19, 2016, 01:10:32 pm »
With certain devices esp serving up data to outside world.. having a fixed address is a necessity... and I still am of the belief that home automation hubs (cough HUE),,, secondary routers and APs.... printers, cameras, NAS, DVRs .. should ideally have a fixed IP so you can reliably know who they are on the LAN... where most things are still connected via NAT and the ip address is the address.. not a name..

DHCP reservation is fine for this purpose...