2
Choose style:

Author Topic: On/Off Switch  (Read 923 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline punkorambo

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 48
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 24/11/2016
    YearsYearsYears
On/Off Switch
« on: March 01, 2017, 06:46:56 pm »
I have an in-wall, timer switch that turns on and off my porch lights. I want to replace it with something I can control with rules on my Almond 3. When I search for "zigbee on/off switch" I can only find old models that don't look supported anymore or different versions that look similar but have drastically different prices. Can someone guide me to what I should be looking for? Thanks!
« Last Edit: March 02, 2017, 07:10:17 am by punkorambo »

Offline Ashok

  • Securifi Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2751
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 25/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: On/Off Switch
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2017, 08:53:30 am »
@ punkorambo,

I have an in-wall, timer switch that turns on and off my porch lights. I want to replace it with something I can control with rules on my Almond 3. When I search for "zigbee on/off switch" I can only find old models that don't look supported anymore or different versions that look similar but have drastically different prices. Can someone guide me to what I should be looking for? Thanks!

If you are not particular about the in-wall then Peanut plug would work just fine or you can go for the following:

https://www.amazon.com/Quirky-PTAPT-WH02-Tapt-Smart-Switch/dp/B00P7RUR9A/ref=sr_1_1?s=boost&srs=12034488011&ie=UTF8&qid=1474418480&sr=8-1&keywords=Quirky+%2B+GE+Tapt

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2044
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: On/Off Switch
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2017, 11:19:00 am »
I have two of the TAPT switches. I would only rank them as OK. Certainly not as decent as Linear or GE switches I have (although those are Z-Wave).

GE does make a ZigBee switch though:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B019HTH2A0/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1488471159&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&keywords=ge+zigbee+switch
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

Offline punkorambo

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 48
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 24/11/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: On/Off Switch
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2017, 01:34:25 pm »
Thank you both to everyone above and below for your help!!
« Last Edit: March 08, 2017, 09:28:30 am by punkorambo »

Offline stelvio1200

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 01/01/2017
    YearsYears
Re: On/Off Switch
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2017, 02:39:09 pm »
Hi punkorambo,

These work very well with the Almond+ https://www.lowes.com/pd/GE-Iris-Single-Pole-3-Way-White-Light-Switch/999913765

I have two of them, porch and driveway. After you install they work just like regular switches. To get them to work with the Almond I used the interface on the Almond itself by bringing it up first and then tapping the top of the switch. The only issue I'm having with them is with the Amazon Echo. They work with the Echo via the Almond Smart Home skill but the Echo doesn't find them as a device.

The following works (I have a scene called Outside On):

"Alexa, tell Almond outside on" and it works.

But because I cannot discover them with the Alexa app and give them a name such as "porch" I can't say "Alexa turn on porch". Not a deal breaker and like I said the kind folks at Securifi are working with me on this issue.

Hope this helps and have fun making your home "smart".

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2044
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: On/Off Switch
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2017, 03:29:24 pm »
In case it matters, the GE 12722 switch is Z-Wave, which will not work "out of the box" with Almond 3s. You need a Z-Wave dongle to plug into their USB port to provide that feature. I will say that works very well though as that is what I have running now.
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

 

Page created in 0.385 seconds with 22 queries.