bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: Alexa in Canada  (Read 1768 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline engr.jpc

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 318
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 29/09/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Alexa in Canada
« on: November 25, 2017, 03:59:42 pm »
Alexa will finally be released in Canada on December. @ Ashok, when can we expect Almond skills in Canada?

Offline Shazster

  • Newbie
  • ****
  • Posts: 173
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 29/11/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Alexa in Canada
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2017, 06:28:18 pm »
I don't think the Almond skill specifically was ever geographically locked up for us. I've always had access to my Almond+ devices, even when my Echo's address was set to a US address. Right now I'm having some issues refreshing the skill itself because of a language conflict (English US vs. English Canadian), but I expect that to shake itself out on Dec 5/6th or whenever the official rollout happens up here in Canukistan. I'm the meantime, Alexa is still discovering Almond devices as usual (be prepared for duplicates: Hue lights will pop up in the Alexa app twice - once when it scans your Hue hub, and once more if they are also set up in your Almond.)

Offline mparadis

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1765
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Alexa in Canada
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2017, 09:05:20 am »
Alexas Home Automation leaves a lot to be desired, for example, I can no longer figure out how to delete removed devices. I can only disable them, but they still show up... I like Alexa's voice control and other features but Amazon needs some improvement here. Google Assistant (Home) seems to have passed them in terms of Home Automation controls.

 

Page created in 0.063 seconds with 19 queries.