Securifi Community Forum

Securifi Products => Almond and Almond A1A => Topic started by: BrownChiLD on March 22, 2015, 09:42:53 am

Title: Router display = ALL WHITE
Post by: BrownChiLD on March 22, 2015, 09:42:53 am
Hi guys

I have an Almond (1st model)... and I noticed that it was only showing white screen.. i rebooted the router and during the startup phase, the display/boot logo was with lots of artifacts and then after a while it would just boot to a white screen. i tried factory resetting it as well. same thing.. I can confirm however that the router seems to be responsive (access over LAN) however the button labels are not being labeled properly (it's not showing the english labels, but rather perhaps the "place holder" text for those buttons.

Thinking that the firmware may have been corrupted,i downloaded the latest and managed to update it thru LAN, but it was still plagued w/ the same issues..

What's goin on? corrupted motherboard or memory issue?
Regards
Title: Re: Router display = ALL WHITE
Post by: LGNilsson on March 23, 2015, 02:30:40 am
Please contact the support team, this looks like it's an RMA if it's still under warranty.
Title: Re: Router display = ALL WHITE
Post by: pete on March 23, 2015, 09:00:01 am
Welcome to the Securifi forum BrownChiLD.

Are you also utilizing the Almond + these days?



Title: Re: Router display = ALL WHITE
Post by: BrownChiLD on March 27, 2015, 08:04:19 pm
Welcome to the Securifi forum BrownChiLD.

Are you also utilizing the Almond + these days?


Thanks pete.  Nope but I'm thinking about getting one.. i've been looking for a 2 in 1 HA device (zigbee / zwave) and i've been waiting for Ninja Sphere.. but since Almond + is already here, i might go w/ almond instead.. provided that the rest of the promised functionalities will be delivered via Firmware.. anyway off topic.. see my post here:
http://forum.securifi.com/index.php/topic,2993.0.html


Please contact the support team, this looks like it's an RMA if it's still under warranty.

ah, crap. I think this is out of its 1 year warranty already by a few months .. and I live in the Philippines. :(
Title: Re: Router display = ALL WHITE
Post by: LGNilsson on March 27, 2015, 11:54:58 pm
Do check with the support team, if you're lucky they might still replace it for you.
Title: Re: Router display = ALL WHITE
Post by: BrownChiLD on March 31, 2015, 02:40:58 am
Alright I'll give that a try. thank you
Title: Re: Router display = ALL WHITE
Post by: anwar.shiekh on February 04, 2017, 09:56:13 am
One option if the screen needs replacing and the the unit is out of warrantee is to find the part; I have a couple on the way to try.
They can be found for just over $10.

the following
http://www.jayconsystems.com/lcd/2-8-40-pin-tft-display-320x240-with-touchscreen.html
works fine. Correction, there is some image persistence associated with this new screen;
I have a second screen (different model) on the way, but it will take time.

A few days in place, and the problems seem to have disappeared.