bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: WIFI stops working after some time  (Read 2593 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline coolcatiger

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
WIFI stops working after some time
« on: July 15, 2014, 08:49:01 am »
After some time can not browse over wifi , I see IP's etc correct but Almond+ will not let me browse. When  I hard boot it starts working again.

I have reset the device few times but still same issue.

Any one experiencing this ?

My Almond+ get very HOT tooo.

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: WIFI stops working after some time
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2014, 09:11:00 am »
Not an issue we've seen I'm afraid, but I'll report it to the software team.

Please specify very hot, as saying something is hot without any kind of comparison makes it very hard for the other end to comprehend how hot very hot is.
Yes, 802.11ac routers run hot, even more so 3x3 routers as they have no less than six power amplifiers in them and as we move on to higher speeds, they'll get even hotter.
The Almond+ might feel hot, but we have a heatpipe cooling the hot components and it distributes the heat more even, so there are no hotspots inside the device itself and it does in fact have superior cooling to all routers we're aware of that doesn't contain a fan. The small size makes it run warmer as well, but we've tested it and it doesn't have any heat issues and it doesn't fail because it's hot.

That said, it's very possible that there's something wrong with your unit, so if you can provide some more precise data, we'll get it looked into.

Offline coolcatiger

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: WIFI stops working after some time
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2014, 03:16:37 pm »
As you said, I feel the heat on top. Which I understand could be normal not affecting performance.

My main issue is losing internet connectivity after a while. Rebooting fixes it for some time and again same issue. Hardwired devices lose internet connection as well. Once rebooted they take lot longer to acquire IP address compared to wifi devices.

LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: WIFI stops working after some time
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2014, 09:18:34 pm »
Ok, this sounds like a serious problem and I'll get someone from the software team get in touch with you.

The heat at the top is normal, as that's where the heat from the heat pipe is dissipated.

Offline coolcatiger

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: WIFI stops working after some time
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2014, 09:15:45 am »
Thanks.

Offline coolcatiger

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: WIFI stops working after some time
« Reply #5 on: July 18, 2014, 09:09:05 am »
No one got back to me yet.

Almond+ has become useless , a $95 brick. I am back to my old cisco router.

As I said even hardwired device are losing connectivity.

I hope you fix all these issue before your retail sales starts, or amazon customer will give 0 stars.




LGNilsson

  • Guest
Re: WIFI stops working after some time
« Reply #6 on: July 18, 2014, 09:53:42 am »
Well, this is clearly an issue we haven't across before, so please give us some time to figure it out.

Offline RL_Wood

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 15/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: WIFI stops working after some time
« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2014, 09:30:45 pm »
Mine loses wifi connectivity regularly (extremely annoying to the bf since he's a gamer) but my hardwired connections seem to work just fine.

Offline coolcatiger

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: WIFI stops working after some time
« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2014, 10:24:03 am »
I have sent you log from Almond+. Hope that helps.

I am back on my old Cisco router in mean time, until you guys fix firmware.

 

Page created in 0.072 seconds with 22 queries.

bottleneck