bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: VLAN tagging  (Read 35375 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SecureComp

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 541
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 05/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #45 on: June 16, 2015, 02:23:24 pm »
Now We are planning to add VLAN support in Almond Plus. I would like to collect the information regarding customer expectation about VLAN in Almond plus.

Please add your comments here .....

FOLKS SPEAK UP !!
Securifi is asking for input on VLANs
Kickstarter Backer
Securifi Wiki Editor and Beta Tester, Not a Securifi employee
Almond+, many sensors, IOS App, Android Apps and Widgets

Offline jrwhitehead

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 22/04/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #46 on: June 17, 2015, 04:53:11 am »
Full implementation of 802.1q on all ports.
------------
KICKSTARTER BACKER!!

Offline tacain

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 03/12/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #47 on: June 17, 2015, 01:37:11 pm »
Full implementation of 802.1q on all ports.

Agreed!!

Offline ShinDestinyZero

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 22/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #48 on: June 18, 2015, 03:32:46 am »
Now We are planning to add VLAN support in Almond Plus. I would like to collect the information regarding customer expectation about VLAN in Almond plus.

Please add your comments here .....
Finally!!! I checked in at the right moment.

@Lars That's odd. It worked when it is in preview post. But you can refer to @The19th post. Thanks btw.

This is the direct link to the picture. You can refer to this as well.
http://blog.namran.net/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/vlan-setting-unifi-1024x545.png

Sorry about the problem.

P/S: I noticed that sometimes the forum can display the picture and most of the time no. I don't know why. Just now when I refreshed the page, it did show the picture. Weird.

For my country's ISP, I need to configure to VLAN 500 and 600 respectively. 500 is for the internet and 600 is for IPTV. Without those options, my Almond+ can only be used as an AP.

Refer to this previous post I posted since I first got the router. You can refer to this link for more info -> http://blog.namran.net/2012/08/05/setting-up-openwrt-to-work-with-tm-unifi/

I hope this helps. Those are the settings I need for setting up my internet connection.

Offline razzfazz

  • Chestnut
  • ***
  • Posts: 34
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 26/12/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #49 on: June 18, 2015, 11:03:07 pm »
Please add the ability to move the guest network to a separate VLAN; without this, that feature is basically useless in access point mode.

Offline Etherknight

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 26/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #50 on: June 19, 2015, 06:36:47 pm »
As others here, I need VLAN support in order to connect the ALmond+ directly to the ONT of my ISP. This ONT only accepts traffic from a specific VLAN (VLAN 6 for data, VLAN 3 for VoIP), ignoring all untagged traffic.
Since Almond+ doesn't support VLAN tagging now, I need to keep the router provided by my ISP between ALmond+ and the ONT, being its work only to tag all traffic from ALmond+ as VLAN 6.

If you finally implement this Almond+ will start becoming a router.

It will be awesome if someday we can get an OpenWRT version in which we could install the features we need.

jjoepaulines

  • Guest
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #51 on: June 19, 2015, 10:39:50 pm »
 I'm still watching all comments  :)

jjoepaulines

  • Guest
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #52 on: June 26, 2015, 08:28:44 am »
I would like to know who are all ready to be as a beta tester for testing VLAN feature in Almond Plus.

If you're interested, please send a PM to joe.john@securifi.com

Offline ChillyPenguin

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 19/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #53 on: July 01, 2015, 04:01:47 pm »
Full implementation of 802.1q on all ports.

+1

Offline madfozi

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 22/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #54 on: July 03, 2015, 08:55:28 am »
:: I am not a network expert, but for VLAN i am referring for this site http://klseet.com/index.php/12-dd-wrt/dd-wrt-setup/72-unifi-dd-wrt-vlan-tagging
-madfozi-

Offline na2f

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 13/07/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #55 on: July 22, 2015, 09:53:53 pm »
if we use the DDWRT, can it enable the VLAN function? :D

Offline zj4x4

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #56 on: July 25, 2015, 05:18:55 pm »
Another vote for VLAN support.  I need to so that I can use my CenturyLink service without a device between their ONT and the A+.

Offline ShinDestinyZero

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 22/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #57 on: December 04, 2015, 01:40:17 am »
I would like to know who are all ready to be as a beta tester for testing VLAN feature in Almond Plus.

If you're interested, please send a PM to joe.john@securifi.com
Any updates on this issue? My Almond is sitting in the closet for a very long time already.

Offline Ashok

  • Securifi Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2770
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 25/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #58 on: December 04, 2015, 10:04:10 am »
@ ShinDestinyZero,

Any updates on this issue? My Almond is sitting in the closet for a very long time already.

We tried our best to implement the full 802.1q VLAN support, unfortunately, because of our hardware limitation, we were not able to isolate the ports based on VLAN ID. However, if your ISP needs tagged traffic from your Almond+, we can do it and got the firmware ready which is still in experimental steage. HA stuff doesn't work with it yet, if any one is interested to test it, then please do send an email to ashok.kumar@securifi.com.


Offline razzfazz

  • Chestnut
  • ***
  • Posts: 34
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 26/12/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: VLAN tagging
« Reply #59 on: December 06, 2015, 07:53:02 pm »
So it's just not happening, then? This had been an advertised feature since as far back as the original Kickstarter campaign, where it's still listed today:

Quote
Router Features

Control settings through Touchscreen or Web Interface
Gateway, Bridge, Access Point and Range Extender Modes
2.4GHz + 5GHz or 2.4GHz Only or 5GHz only
Wireless Security - Open, WEP, WPA, WPA2, WPA/WPA2-Enterprise
Multiple SSIDs upto 4 per each band
VLANs, Port Forwarding, Port Filtering, Firewall, DMZ, QOS
VPN, Samba Server (USB Storage/Printers)
DLNA Streaming, UPnP
Upgrade firmware without needing a PC or Mac

Pretty sure at least some of the highlighted no-show features were also advertised on the Almond+ product page at least as late as the pre-order phase (tho have since been removed).

Disappointing.
« Last Edit: December 13, 2015, 02:49:51 am by razzfazz »

 

Page created in 0.06 seconds with 19 queries.

bottleneck