bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: Android Widget?  (Read 21940 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mr23

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 204
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Android Widget?
« Reply #15 on: February 13, 2015, 05:32:58 pm »
By the way, this will not function with R70 due to the authentication change.
Should have a new release completed this weekend that does work with R70.

Offline xtbs26

  • Chestnut
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 07/02/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Android Widget?
« Reply #16 on: February 18, 2015, 09:06:28 am »
Is the updated version that works with the 70 release out yet?

Offline mr23

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 204
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Android Widget?
« Reply #17 on: February 18, 2015, 01:45:17 pm »
Is the updated version that works with the 70 release out yet?

Not yet. I have an app build running, but not a widget version just yet.

Offline mr23

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 204
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Android Widget?
« Reply #18 on: February 18, 2015, 11:45:32 pm »
Not yet. I have an app build running, but not a widget version just yet. Life is causing a delay.

Found time tonight. App and Widget are functioning now with FW '70.
I expect to upload a new version in the next few days.

Offline mr23

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 204
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Android Widget?
« Reply #19 on: February 23, 2015, 12:33:20 am »
Found time tonight. App and Widget are functioning now with FW '70.
I expect to upload a new version in the next few days.

New '70 compatible version is in Beta. Should release in the next 24 hours.

Offline xtbs26

  • Chestnut
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 07/02/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Android Widget?
« Reply #20 on: February 24, 2015, 10:52:05 am »
I d/l the new widget and it works great. However, I have some questions about the widget itself. I only see one size option, and that one takes up a lot more space than the actual size of the controls. Is that correct or am I missing something? I am not able to re-size it. I am using an HTC One M8, with their (HTC) launcher.
Thanks!

Offline mr23

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 204
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Android Widget?
« Reply #21 on: February 28, 2015, 12:32:02 pm »
I d/l the new widget and it works great. However, I have some questions about the widget itself. I only see one size option, and that one takes up a lot more space than the actual size of the controls. Is that correct or am I missing something? I am not able to re-size it. I am using an HTC One M8, with their (HTC) launcher.
Thanks!

There are currently 3 sizes of widgets in the release. Resizing depends on support from the device's launcher.
I'm looking into further improvements in widget layouts, including a vertical layout.

Offline mr23

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 204
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Android Widget?
« Reply #22 on: February 28, 2015, 09:23:54 pm »
There are currently 3 sizes of widgets in the release. Resizing depends on support from the device's launcher.
I'm looking into further improvements in widget layouts, including a vertical layout.

v18 with a 2x4 portrait layout, and some improvements to the landscape layouts

Offline mr23

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 204
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Android Widget?
« Reply #23 on: March 03, 2015, 10:12:27 pm »
Now compatible with R070as beta.

I also wrote a quick post (http://the12lab.com/almond-light-controller-appwidget/).

Offline mr23

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 204
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Android Widget?
« Reply #24 on: March 12, 2015, 12:48:26 am »
Added Widget-like capability on the Notification Drawer. Swipe-down, adjust your lamps!

Blog post updated (http://the12lab.com/almond-light-controller-appwidget/).

Offline mr23

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 204
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Android Widget?
« Reply #25 on: March 31, 2015, 12:42:09 am »
Improved the graphics, and added another portrait layout. @link in sig.

FYI, this App/Widget uses the Almond+ directly as a slave, not through the Cloud.

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2060
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Android Widget?
« Reply #26 on: May 15, 2015, 05:57:38 pm »
Any plans to expand this beyond lamps, possible a "desired features" list or options you might implement if people make donations to get them done, or any such similar idea?
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

Offline mr23

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 204
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Android Widget?
« Reply #27 on: May 15, 2015, 07:50:37 pm »
Any plans to expand this beyond lamps, possible a "desired features" list or options you might implement if people make donations to get them done, or any such similar idea?

I could consider that. One problem I would have is lack of devices to test with.
I'm a little torn on investing more time into A+ 'software' or money into A+ compatible zigbee/zwave devices as
- I expected Securifi to beef up Almond+ with HA and improve the mobile Apps
- I expected more sales of Almond+, and folks then that would want something working 'now' (via this App)
- I didn't expect Securifi to dilute their efforts on A+ by doing Almond 2015
- I hadn't expected Securifi to release A+ so short of promise, and I suspect it will suffer in the marketplace accordingly
- I expected more compatible devices by now. I tried a different lamp and A+ wouldn't control it despite being on the compat list
- Releasing and pulling a firmware update is more cause for concern
- Postings like http://forum.securifi.com/index.php/topic,3232.msg14920.html#msg14920

On the other hand, the A+ is working for internet/wifi/wired, and I'm controlling my lights individually or in groups using A+ as a slave.
So if there is some interest in adding devices or other needs, I can consider it.
I hesitate to consider essentially implementing full HA/Scene support as an App and using the A+ as a slave, as that would require a significant investment in time. I haven't investigated any (open source) 'App' options for that, I'd expect there aren't any since devices are sold with hubs or to work with full HA systems.

Post a list of what you are looking for, maybe others will have some interest, and we'll discuss. I have to weigh it against other things of course.
How many folks have interest ?

-Chris
My B4x forum sig has a donation link, should we get that far.
http://www.b4x.com/android/forum/threads/almond-lamp-controller-app-widget.49936/

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2060
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Android Widget?
« Reply #28 on: May 16, 2015, 02:27:12 pm »
I understand. I think you might have some faster turnaround than my working on something myself though, and you definitely have better experience at it. I will have to sit down and think up a "wish list".
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

Offline mr23

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 204
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Android Widget?
« Reply #29 on: May 20, 2015, 11:03:39 am »
Securifi is now promising app with local control in "a month or two", which usually means "at some point, don't count on it on that schedule". That thread says they are actively working on it. Just this week for the first time I was able to use the luci web interface to adjust a light level more than once without hang/timeouts, functionality that should have been there since delivery. I've already forgotten when I received my Almond+.

Over the past 5 days no one else has commented on your post, so my takeaway is the interest is low, people have moved on, are not willing to spend a few bucks, or just don't read the forum.

I have an HTC Wildfire (cheap) per room running the Play store version, with the Widget up on the home screen, each set to all lamps at the room location. Tap tap and my lights are at a new level.


 

Page created in 0.057 seconds with 18 queries.