bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: DDNS field of Dynamic DNS  (Read 2921 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Sanborn

  • Acorn
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 21/01/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYears
DDNS field of Dynamic DNS
« on: January 21, 2014, 09:18:46 pm »
I'm using freedns.afraid.org and I'm a little confused about this DDNS field.

So I've got my username, password... what is supposed to be in that third field? I have numerous domains registered with FreeDNS.

Offline Patrick Wilson

  • Cashew
  • ****
  • Posts: 220
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 21/07/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: DDNS field of Dynamic DNS
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2014, 01:53:01 am »
I'm using freedns.afraid.org and I'm a little confused about this DDNS field.

So I've got my username, password... what is supposed to be in that third field? I have numerous domains registered with FreeDNS.

Our DDNS Feature on the Almond supports the following providers:

  • dyndns.org
  • freedns.org
  • zoneedit.com
  • no-ip.com

You are attempting to configure a "freedns.afraid.org",  address so your Almond should definitely be able to support one of your addresses.



  • Select "freedns.afraid.org" from the DDNS Provider pulldown
  • Account name = Your "freedns.afraid.org" username
  • Password = Your "freedns.afraid.org" password
  • DDNS = One of your addresses registered with "freedns.afraid.org" service

If you need to support more than a single DDNS address for your IP address,  you will probably want to install something like "inadyn" on a Windows or Linux PC inside your network for registering any "additional" DDNS addresses against your external IP address.

Your Almond can only be setup to register a single DDNS address at a time,  but you can register as many addresses as you want if you run "inadyn" (or simlar) in one of your internal machines.  If you are trying to host multiple Websites for example you might want to install "inadyn" on the WebServer machine,  so that you can configure your secondary DDNS names,  and Website content on the same machine. 

I hope this clarification assists you in resolving your issues with our DDNS configuration screen.  Please don't hestifate to reply agan if you have further quiestions about this feature. 
Patrick Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada

Offline Sanborn

  • Acorn
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 21/01/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: DDNS field of Dynamic DNS
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2014, 08:05:19 am »
Thank you Patrick, really appreciate the help.

 

Page created in 0.043 seconds with 21 queries.

bottleneck