bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes  (Read 27609 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MikeTRose

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 10/07/2016
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #60 on: July 10, 2016, 07:41:48 pm »
Is your Almond+ connected to a Cable Modem directly ?
or
Is your Almond+ connected to your ISP provided router (or combo modem/router) and acting as a Router or Access Point?
(with the ISP unit also acting as a router)

It's connected directly to the cable modem. Cablevision/Optimum in NYC.

One bit of additional data: I happened to capture the system log at the moment my 5GHz WLAN dropped or went "deaf" -- see below.

Jul 10 23:02:56 AlmondPlus user.info sysinit: WRITE ERR: ep 01 clus 0019 attr 0006 not supported^M
Jul 10 23:02:56 AlmondPlus user.info sysinit: Svc Disc: Starting discovery for cluster 0x0019^M
Jul 10 23:02:56 AlmondPlus user.info sysinit: Svc Disc: Waiting 2 sec for discovery to complete^M
Jul 10 23:02:58 AlmondPlus user.info sysinit: Svc Disc: complete.^M
Jul 10 23:02:58 AlmondPlus user.info sysinit: WRITE ERR: ep 01 clus 0019 attr 0006 not supported^M

Offline SecureComp

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 541
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 05/08/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #61 on: July 15, 2016, 11:52:28 pm »
Thanks for that.

Eliminates one scenario I was trying to run to ground.
Kickstarter Backer
Securifi Wiki Editor and Beta Tester, Not a Securifi employee
Almond+, many sensors, IOS App, Android Apps and Widgets

Offline digidog

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 23/07/2016
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #62 on: July 23, 2016, 12:22:23 pm »
I just wanted to Chime in... I have been seeing this issue also.  It happens on both 2.4 and 5ghz and rebooting fixes it for a short time.

Is there anyway to downgrade the firmware?  It seems this issue has been going on for months, with no resolution and only started with the latest firmware.

If I can't get a fix soon, I will have to get another wireless device... and it won't be a Almond...

Offline digidog

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 23/07/2016
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #63 on: August 08, 2016, 11:00:36 am »
So, by no-one answering I am assuming there is no way to downgrade the firmware?

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2059
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #64 on: August 08, 2016, 11:23:43 am »
It is possible, but you need to have a copy of the firmware.
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

Offline digidog

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 23/07/2016
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #65 on: August 08, 2016, 11:39:39 am »
I was able to figure out how to download previous versions of the Firmware, I am curious when others have seen this issue pop up?  I am guessing going back about a year?  I was thinking about loading the following firmware.  Now I just need to figure out how to stop it from updating on its own...

https://firmware.securifi.com/AP2/AP2-R072-L009-W016-ZW016-ZB005

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2059
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #66 on: August 08, 2016, 11:46:36 am »
Almond+ should not auto-update to my knowledge. You have to load software via the webpage or tell it to update via the LCD.

Unfortunately I have not had this problem with the many different versions of software I have used, so I cannot help solve it directly. Sorry, and good luck.
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

Offline digidog

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 23/07/2016
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #67 on: August 10, 2016, 08:15:37 pm »
Downgrading did not help.  I did some additional troubleshooting.  When I do a continuous ping (ex. 192.168.1.1 -t) to the almond, it will ping for a while, and them time out for 3-4 pings and starts back up, and pings good for a while and then it stops again for 3-4 pings, it does that over and over.  I plugged another device into that same cable, do a continuous ping and it never fails, so I don't think it is the cable. 

Any ideas?


Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2059
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #68 on: August 10, 2016, 10:08:31 pm »
Is the ping and no-ping interval pretty consistent? For example, does it respond to pings for a minute, 2 minutes, 5... then drop for 3-4, then works fine for the same interval (1, 2, 5, whatever) again? Maybe there is any consistency that might be able to be pegged to something?
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

Offline d.kiran

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 500
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 11/09/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #69 on: August 11, 2016, 02:46:15 pm »
Downgrading did not help.  I did some additional troubleshooting.  When I do a continuous ping (ex. 192.168.1.1 -t) to the almond, it will ping for a while, and them time out for 3-4 pings and starts back up, and pings good for a while and then it stops again for 3-4 pings, it does that over and over.  I plugged another device into that same cable, do a continuous ping and it never fails, so I don't think it is the cable. 

Any ideas?

I had a similar concern. I downloaded EMCO Ping Monitor to ping both Almond+ router and 4 other websites. The idea was to prove the there is an intermittent connection drop. Fortunately (or unfortunately ?) after 4 days of continuous pings and no packet lost, I was convinced that Almond was not losing packets.

Offline Halaster

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #70 on: December 05, 2016, 01:22:56 am »
@ Halaster,

It could be related to the Screentimeout, could you please try to set the Screen Timeout to "999999" and let us know the status.

Just got around to testing this change. I modified the Almond+ Screen Timeout to 99999 as suggested. I also changed the DHCP lease to be much higher than it was.
The problem that was happening multiple times every single day has not happened in a week now.

Offline Halaster

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #71 on: December 09, 2016, 01:13:30 am »
Problem is still here, it just took a few extra days to happen. 5.0Ghz network continued to work but internet completely broke on the other. Had to reboot the router completely to get the internet working again.

 

Page created in 0.064 seconds with 18 queries.

bottleneck