bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes  (Read 27562 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bltpyro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 11/09/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« on: September 11, 2015, 01:17:33 pm »
My almond+ is having connection problems, including on the latest firmware. It will still say my phone is connected to the Wifi for example, but nothing will work. If I try to run a speedtest it will say connection error. Even if I try to access another computer on my local network it won't work. My phone says it is connected, but nothing works. It will last for a couple of minutes before things start working again. This happens multiple times per day. It is so annoying that I have started just using LTE instead of wifi because of how frequent it is. It happens on my wifes laptop and phone as well. Any ideas?

Offline Ashok

  • Securifi Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2770
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 25/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2015, 05:44:30 pm »
@ bltpyro,

Ensure that the software on the Almond+ is R080 and if you have not tried it yet then please perform a factory reset and check the performance.

Offline rldreams

  • Beta Testers
  • *
  • Posts: 240
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/06/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2015, 11:28:02 am »
This has been an issue since R80 was released. No solution other than a hard reset ( which will fix it temporarily) has ever been suggested.

 I think my A+ saw me reading this thread. Connection to the modem had been stable for about a month. Since I first read this thread it has been cycling the connection off/on ( 1 minute off 4 minutes on ) for the last 2 hours.

Offline Ashok

  • Securifi Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2770
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 25/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2015, 12:11:53 pm »
@ rldreams,

To my best knowledge, everything was working fine after removing the WAN script on your Almond+. If you have done a factory reset again after that, then we may have to remove it again which was causing the issue for you.

Offline dinoby

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 11/02/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2015, 08:56:15 pm »
I came to the forums and was glad to see I'm not the only one noticing this same issue on my Almond+. Hope to get some updates/suggestions on fix here. Thanks!

Offline mr23

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 204
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2015, 10:37:09 pm »
... was working fine after removing the WAN script on your Almond+

I did a search on "WAN script" and other things but didn't get a hit explaining how to fix this.
Please elaborate, Ashok.

With R080 occasionally at least some or all of the device connections goes down long enough for devices to reconnect, both wired and wifi.
Thanks.
-Chris


Offline Ashok

  • Securifi Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2770
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 25/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2015, 08:19:52 am »
@ mr23,

It doesn't work on all the cases, whenever we face any issue with the internet connection where it gets disconnected for few seconds and comes back only then it would help.

You may try the following to check, if this is helping. Login to the console and follow the steps, ensure to reboot the Almond+ after that.

root@AlmondPlus:/# cd sbin/

root@AlmondPlus:/sbin# rm network_wan.


Offline Ashok

  • Securifi Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2770
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 25/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2015, 08:24:58 am »
Any user who got the intermittent connection with Almond+, please do ping me at (ashok.kumar@securifi.com).

If in case, if it is possible then please try to diagnose the issue is with hard-wired and wireless both or only wireless (In that both the bands or only one). So that accordingly, we could assist properly.

Offline gof

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2015, 03:28:20 am »
Email sent.  I too have been having this issue and came looking to see if I was the only one.  I'm relieved to see that I'm not alone since hopefully it'll get diagnosed and fixed. I'm seeing it across all bands, but I've only been testing for wireless.  I've been using Acrylic as it lets me visually see when I get an upset.  I got a good one this evening, but I didn't get a screen grab.  I'll try for one next time.

Acrylic:
https://www.acrylicwifi.com/en/wlan-software/wlan-scanner-acrylic-wifi-free/
« Last Edit: September 18, 2015, 03:30:56 am by gof »

Offline gof

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #9 on: September 18, 2015, 11:47:22 am »
Here's some scans showing the stutter issue.  Note I have the Almond+ serving OurHousisveryCool2 (2.4GHz), OurHouseisveryCool5 (5GHz), and a guest network sillybands (2.4GHz).  There is also another router (in AP mode) OurHousisveryCool2 (2.4GHz) to serve as a range extender to the upstairs (big house).  The additional router is connected via Ethernet cable.

Note in the pictures that the guest network is stuttering hard in the first, only occasionally in the second, and then irregularly in the third.  Also, notice the 5GHz band is rock steady for awhile in the first before starting to drift a little.  Finally, this series has the most stutter on the guest network (sillybands), but I see the same behavior on the regular on the main network (OurHouseisveryCool2).  You just have to catch it at the right time.  At other times when it's working ok, all three lines are pretty steady with no performance issues.  Added a 4th picture showing some longer timeouts on the guest network

The computer  (laptop) scanning the Almond+ is sitting approximately 25 feet from the router with nothing between them (no walls) and approximately on the same horizontal plane (the router antennas are "up").  The secondary AP is two floors above, probably a straightline distance of 50 feet.  I'm not sure how power is supposed to trend on the 5GHz band, but I notice it's significantly lower than the 2.4GHz signals despite being the same source/receiver.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2015, 12:05:11 pm by gof »

Offline nfwolfpryde

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 24/09/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2015, 10:24:06 pm »
I've seen the same behavior. Now trying to reset the router back to factory defaults. Only seemed to just now start happening the last week or two, and is incredibly frustrating. Ping times should not be measured in the seconds :(.

Here is just a simple ping example. Without the router, I'm in the high teens consistently.

Pinging www.google.com [64.233.176.105] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 64.233.176.105: bytes=32 time=984ms TTL=43
Reply from 64.233.176.105: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=43
Reply from 64.233.176.105: bytes=32 time=477ms TTL=43
Reply from 64.233.176.105: bytes=32 time=225ms TTL=43
Reply from 64.233.176.105: bytes=32 time=489ms TTL=43
Reply from 64.233.176.105: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=43
Reply from 64.233.176.105: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=43
Reply from 64.233.176.105: bytes=32 time=487ms TTL=43
Reply from 64.233.176.105: bytes=32 time=37ms TTL=43
Reply from 64.233.176.105: bytes=32 time=1162ms TTL=43
Reply from 64.233.176.105: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=43
Reply from 64.233.176.105: bytes=32 time=250ms TTL=43
« Last Edit: September 24, 2015, 10:28:36 pm by nfwolfpryde »

Offline gof

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #11 on: October 28, 2015, 02:02:15 pm »
Still no word on a fix for this?

Offline bigfnj

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 30/01/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2015, 06:22:31 pm »
I have the same issue and came to the forums hoping for a "FIX". It only started happening when moving to R80, a little dis-heartening.

Offline yeehaw

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 12/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #13 on: November 08, 2015, 06:45:33 pm »
I've been noticing that my wireless drops regularly too.  This forces me to reboot once or twice a day.  I have not had time to look further into this but once connection drops I've seen that my devices will hang on trying to associate back onto the network.  Has a fix been established?

Offline Ashok

  • Securifi Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2770
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 25/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Connection randomly stops working for a few minutes
« Reply #14 on: November 09, 2015, 07:52:04 pm »
@ yeehaw,

Are you getting dropped only the wireless connection or both and if it is only wireless, is it 2.4 or 5 Ghz?
« Last Edit: November 09, 2015, 09:12:43 pm by Ashok »

 

Page created in 0.04 seconds with 17 queries.