Choose style:

Author Topic: Almond A1A  (Read 2496 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline anwar.shiekh

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 06/12/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Almond A1A
« on: December 11, 2016, 10:17:05 am »
What is an Almond A1A?

As far as I can tell, the A1A is an updated Almond based on the same hardware as the Almond 2015 (it has a 12V supply and a USB port)
« Last Edit: December 17, 2016, 06:22:28 pm by anwar.shiekh »

Offline mparadis

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1757
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond A1A
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2016, 10:10:03 am »
Where do you see that? There are 4 almond devices. The original Almond (2012) which is router, extender, access point. Almond+ (2014) which is the original home automation device with massively improved wifi specs as well. Almond 2015 which features Zigbee in addition to its wifi capabilities. Almond 3 (2016) which features Zigbee, and meshed wifi capabilities.

Offline anwar.shiekh

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 06/12/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond A1A
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2016, 11:23:44 am »
Hidden in plain sight

https://www.securifi.com/support
has data sheets for 5 variations

Almond
Almond A1A
Almond 2015
Almond +
Almond 3

https://www.securifi.com/software-update
mentions 5 lots of firmware, including the A1A

https://d1ps2o5uupey1c.cloudfront.net/wp-content/uploads/almonda1adatasheet.pdf
is the datasheet for the A1A (it specifies a USB port, despite the picture).


I have an A1A (the serial number includes A1A) and can confirm it has a USB port, and a 12V power supply (the original Almond uses a 5V power supply with a larger connector, and had no USB port). The box it came in looks almost identical to that of the original Almond, although one can see the USB port in the side picture. The manual that comes with it specifies a 12V power supply although the picture (in the manual, not on the box) shows the original Almond with no USB port, and does not mention a USB port.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2016, 01:41:59 pm by anwar.shiekh »

Offline mparadis

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1757
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Almond A1A
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2016, 06:53:02 pm »
That is news to me. Perhaps they replaced the original with this version for cost reasons rather than continuing to manufacture the original with different cases etc.

Offline anwar.shiekh

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 06/12/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond A1A
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2016, 07:18:48 pm »
Makes a lot of sense to use the same hardware as the Almond 2015, even from a firmware development point of view.

At first I didn't know and loaded the original Almond firmware, bricking the unit. Fortunately I had an UART and was able to bring it back to life, initially loading the Almond 2015 firmware (on which it booted and ran) before realizing it should have been the A1A firmware; that is how I know it is based on the same hardware.

Fortunately I like such projects, or it could have been rather frustrating.

Tech support were most helpful, although I had to figure out the role of the A1A myself.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2016, 07:30:21 pm by anwar.shiekh »

 

Page created in 0.052 seconds with 20 queries.

bottleneck