bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: Monoprice Z-wave Plus Multi sensor $23  (Read 2306 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline grouter

  • Beta Testers
  • *
  • Posts: 501
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 01/01/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYears
Monoprice Z-wave Plus Multi sensor $23
« on: December 17, 2016, 03:20:16 pm »
Motion, temp, humidity and light
$22.99 and free shipping

Not sure if this is supported yet. Anyone using this?

http://www.monoprice.com/mobile/product/description/15902?maincategoryid=122&categoryid=12212&subcategoryid=1091804

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2056
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Monoprice Z-wave Plus Multi sensor $23
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2016, 04:51:30 pm »
Looks EXACTLY like the ZOOZ Multi-Sensor I just got and that works fine. The manual is a bit different, but has all the EXACT same values and settings...

Ordered... Will let people know. Too bad I paid more for the ZOOZ.
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

Offline grouter

  • Beta Testers
  • *
  • Posts: 501
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 01/01/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Monoprice Z-wave Plus Multi sensor $23
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2016, 03:56:00 pm »
Looks EXACTLY like the ZOOZ Multi-Sensor I just got and that works fine. The manual is a bit different, but has all the EXACT same values and settings...

Ordered... Will let people know. Too bad I paid more for the ZOOZ.

I received two today and can't pair either of them. Any luck?

The included book says powering on an unpaired unit will blink 5 times, once if already paired. Mine cycle through some colors, but i don't believe 5 times. A single button press after that gives one blink and never shows as detected on the LCD.

Any idea how to reset?

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2056
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Monoprice Z-wave Plus Multi sensor $23
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2016, 08:10:16 pm »
Have not gotten mine so not sure yet. If they WERE ZOOZ-based, pressing the button twice is supposed to start pairing. It it does not happen, it says press it quickly "several times" to make sure it goes through.

You can also try doing a remove just to make sure it is "cleaned" from the Almond before adding it again.
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

Offline grouter

  • Beta Testers
  • *
  • Posts: 501
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 01/01/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Monoprice Z-wave Plus Multi sensor $23
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2016, 11:13:50 pm »
Have not gotten mine so not sure yet. If they WERE ZOOZ-based, pressing the button twice is supposed to start pairing. It it does not happen, it says press it quickly "several times" to make sure it goes through.

You can also try doing a remove just to make sure it is "cleaned" from the Almond before adding it again.

I tried this and more. No luck...

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2056
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Monoprice Z-wave Plus Multi sensor $23
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2016, 11:48:40 am »
Bummer. Well, I will have one soon. See if mine has any better luck I guess.
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

Offline grouter

  • Beta Testers
  • *
  • Posts: 501
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 01/01/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Monoprice Z-wave Plus Multi sensor $23
« Reply #6 on: December 27, 2016, 10:20:07 pm »
Success!

Turns out I was pressing the tamper detection button inside the unit. The "program switch" is in a pinhole on the outside. Once pressing this the LED flashed 5 times as noted in the manual and pressing 1 time again started the pairing process.

The Zooz manual has the correct information and the Monoprice one does not.

I'll attribute at least half of this USER ERROR to Monoprice's lacking documentation  ;)

Offline grouter

  • Beta Testers
  • *
  • Posts: 501
  • Thanks: 1
  • Registered : 01/01/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Monoprice Z-wave Plus Multi sensor $23
« Reply #7 on: December 27, 2016, 10:27:49 pm »
Initial testing shows that these units are far more responsive and accurate with light level (lux) detection than the Aeon Multi6. And maybe a bit more sensitive with motion detection as well.

 

Page created in 0.047 seconds with 21 queries.