bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: Aeon Labs Aeotec Z-stick Series 2 (DSA02203-ZWUS)  (Read 2677 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mparadis

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1765
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Aeon Labs Aeotec Z-stick Series 2 (DSA02203-ZWUS)
« on: December 28, 2016, 08:24:12 pm »
Brand:                                                  Aeon Labs Aeotec
Model Name:                                      Z-Stick S2
Model Number:                                   DSA02203-ZWUS
What units it works with:                     Almond 3
Protocol: (Zigbee, Z Wave, Wifi)          Z Wave
What functions work / don't work:      Adds Z Wave ability to Almond 3
What Batteries / Power Supply:           Self Powered via USB (also incorporated battery, non-replaceable)
Purchase Location:                               Amazon (has been replaced by the Gen 5 version since)
Price Paid: Approximate Okay             $40 (3 years ago)
Notes, Comments or Limitations:        Worked immediately upon plugging it in; do not know if it would work to with its battery function to add devices; does not appear to be the Z Wave Plus Version which is an update from this; this is the Z-stick Series 2, the newest one is the Z-stick Series 2 Gen 5 (the naming is a little ambiguous)

Offline mparadis

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1765
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Aeon Labs Aeotec Z-stick Series 2 (DSA02203-ZWUS)
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2016, 08:24:39 pm »
.

Offline penright

  • Chestnut
  • ***
  • Posts: 67
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 17/11/2016
    YearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Aeon Labs Aeotec Z-stick Series 2 (DSA02203-ZWUS)
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2016, 08:08:56 am »
Brand:                                                  Aeon Labs Aeotec
Since I have the A+ and not the A3, this may be a dumb question. If you have a controller that is handling your zwave devices, why would you need a stick? Does the A3 not come with zwave?

I did look at differents sticks as an option for my Raspberry Pi (RPI)/device emulation project, but all the ones I found only supported controller type functions, none of them emulated a device.

Just asking, still learning.
Moving from Tuxedo to Almond+
And Loving it.

Offline mparadis

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1765
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Aeon Labs Aeotec Z-stick Series 2 (DSA02203-ZWUS)
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2016, 09:41:58 am »
Since I have the A+ and not the A3, this may be a dumb question. If you have a controller that is handling your zwave devices, why would you need a stick? Does the A3 not come with zwave?

I did look at differents sticks as an option for my Raspberry Pi (RPI)/device emulation project, but all the ones I found only supported controller type functions, none of them emulated a device.

Just asking, still learning.

Almond 3 does not have native support for Z Wave only Zigbee. It supports USB sticks to add that functionality.

Offline penright

  • Chestnut
  • ***
  • Posts: 67
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 17/11/2016
    YearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Aeon Labs Aeotec Z-stick Series 2 (DSA02203-ZWUS)
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2016, 10:31:11 am »
Almond 3 does not have native support for Z Wave only Zigbee. It supports USB sticks to add that functionality.
Suspected that.

This did give me a thought, does/how the A+ supports sub controller?
In theory, could I use the stick on RPI, create a sub controller to the A+, would the sub controller devices show up and be able to be controlled by the A+?
Is that how sub controllers work?

When it get down to it, the DeviceList.xml still maybe the ticket.
Moving from Tuxedo to Almond+
And Loving it.

Offline mparadis

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1765
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Aeon Labs Aeotec Z-stick Series 2 (DSA02203-ZWUS)
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2016, 12:44:02 pm »
Suspected that.

This did give me a thought, does/how the A+ supports sub controller?
In theory, could I use the stick on RPI, create a sub controller to the A+, would the sub controller devices show up and be able to be controlled by the A+?
Is that how sub controllers work?

When it get down to it, the DeviceList.xml still maybe the ticket.

No secondary controller support at this point unfortunately.

 

Page created in 0.087 seconds with 21 queries.

bottleneck