Choose style:

Author Topic: Proper place to Configure DNS Server  (Read 1940 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline punkorambo

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 24/11/2016
    YearsYearsYearsYears
Proper place to Configure DNS Server
« on: January 26, 2017, 04:55:34 pm »
Hi everyone - I have a question about the proper place to configure the DNS server for my network to use. My current setup is ENT COAX->ISP Router then ISP Router LAN port->Almond3 WAN Port->My network devices.
My problem lies in the fact that my ISP is Verizon FiOS and I can not easily bridge my ISP router or bypass it because it is needed for my television services.  Since both my Almond3 and ISP Router are acting as routers, do I set the DNS configuration (for internet access, i.e. 8.8.8.8 ) on my Almond3, on my ISP Router, or both?

Thanks!

Offline punkorambo

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 24/11/2016
    YearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Proper place to Configure DNS Server
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2017, 09:44:04 pm »
A co-worker, who is a network designer, told me I only need to set there DNS server address on my Almond.

Offline Ashok

  • Securifi Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 2769
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 25/07/2014
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Proper place to Configure DNS Server
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2017, 07:12:40 pm »
@ punkorambo,

Technically, we shouldn't be facing any issues with the DNS, are you facing any issues with the current setup?

Offline punkorambo

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 24/11/2016
    YearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Proper place to Configure DNS Server
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2017, 07:02:37 pm »
No problems, I just wanted to make sure that any DNS lookup wasn't getting rerouted to the Verizon servers. I think I'm good!

Offline mparadis

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1765
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Proper place to Configure DNS Server
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2017, 01:27:46 pm »
I think you can do both or either honestly. I am not overly familiar with a double NAT system though.

 

Page created in 0.071 seconds with 21 queries.

bottleneck