bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: Need help with Peanut Plug not connecting  (Read 2648 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RPratt

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 26/06/2017
    YearsYears
Need help with Peanut Plug not connecting
« on: June 26, 2017, 10:22:23 am »
I am unable to see my peanut plug on my Almond+ router any more
When I try to pair the red light flashes and is never found

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2036
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Need help with Peanut Plug not connecting
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2017, 01:23:15 pm »
2 questions:
Did you try resetting the Peanut Plug?
Did you remove the entry for it from the Almond?
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

Offline RPratt

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 26/06/2017
    YearsYears
Re: Need help with Peanut Plug not connecting
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2017, 08:17:39 am »
I am not able to reset or stop the peanut from flashing red, this includes trying to reset

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2036
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Need help with Peanut Plug not connecting
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2017, 07:27:32 am »
Is it flashing red all the time, or just blinking red for a while after attempting to pair?
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

Offline RPratt

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 26/06/2017
    YearsYears
Re: Need help with Peanut Plug not connecting
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2017, 07:56:39 am »
All the time. Trying to do a reset does not seem to work while it is like this.

Offline mparadis

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1754
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Need help with Peanut Plug not connecting
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2017, 08:00:17 am »
When you remove it from the Almond+? If so how did you do it? It sounds like it is trying to pair constantly but can't. So make sure it is removed properly by going into the add sensor section and selecting remove and seeing if it responds (it may not). Then I would reboot the A+ and go back to pair and give it a go. How close is the peanut to the A+? Ideally this will be within a foot or so to make a stable connection.

Offline RPratt

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 26/06/2017
    YearsYears
Re: Need help with Peanut Plug not connecting
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2017, 09:06:42 am »
I removed it from the A+ about 2 weeks ago and the A+ does a boot cycle every sunday night
I had an issue with the rules not turning off the peanut and disconnected it and never got it reconnected.

At this time right now no matter what I do to the Peanut the moment I plug it in it will flash red and the A+ will not see it

Offline mparadis

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1754
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Need help with Peanut Plug not connecting
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2017, 09:48:48 am »
Yeah definitely not right. I would contact support, they are very helpful.

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2036
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Need help with Peanut Plug not connecting
« Reply #8 on: June 28, 2017, 10:20:08 am »
That is why I asked. No matter what it should not be constantly flashing. Sounds like an error to call support (or email) them about.
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

Offline nitesh.agarwal

  • Securifi Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 18/08/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Need help with Peanut Plug not connecting
« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2017, 03:14:25 pm »
@RPratt:

Basically, Peanut Plug is a ZigBee device and if it stops working, it needs to be reset. Please unplug and plug the Peanut device back. Once it is done, press and hold the pairing button (which is right next to on/off button) for 8-10 seconds. After this disconnect the and reconnect the Peanut Plug from outlet, then tap on Add Sensor to complete the pairing process.

Offline BikerBob

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 14/01/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Need help with Peanut Plug not connecting
« Reply #10 on: March 08, 2019, 07:40:44 pm »
I am livid with disgust about how difficult it now is to re-pair Peanut Plugs to an Almond.  Just doesn't pair any more.  Has been paired before.  Now Peanut Plug light just blinky-blinks away, but WON'T PAIR!!!  Why now so difficult???  Tried the so-called reset, all kinds of button pushes... NADA!  I am livid with Securifi about all the time being spent on this problem!!
Almond+ | Android App | Peanut Plugs | OSRAM Lightify LED/A19/DIM/RGB

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2036
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Need help with Peanut Plug not connecting
« Reply #11 on: March 09, 2019, 01:47:03 pm »
I would contact support, maybe you got a bad one. Can happen for any product.

As for resetting... I just did it on a bunch of mine as I was reworking things earlier today. All I can say is that I pressed the pair button for ~10 seconds and released it. It would blink red a few times (whether or not the green light indicating it is On or not is on). Then I would press the pair to pair it to controller. Worked on all 8 I redid. So the process works, but maybe you got a "dud".
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

Offline BikerBob

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 14/01/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Need help with Peanut Plug not connecting
« Reply #12 on: March 10, 2019, 12:26:16 pm »
@fillibar, thanks for the reply... Ok, Problem Solved!!  The Peanut Plugs are NOT compatible with a plain old Almond!!  I was using my Android App to try to add/ pair the Peanut Plugs to the Almond... no can do.  Noted on the Peanut Plug box they are compatible with Almond+ and Almond 2015.  Went down to my Almond+ and they were still "paired" to it.  I removed those pairs, and successfully re-paired to the Almond+ each of three Peanut Plugs.
Almond+ | Android App | Peanut Plugs | OSRAM Lightify LED/A19/DIM/RGB

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2036
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Need help with Peanut Plug not connecting
« Reply #13 on: March 10, 2019, 08:28:38 pm »
An original Almond? I did not think those supported ZigBee... That would be the 2015, +, 3 or Guards...

Glad you got it fixed, too bad it was such a pain to begin with. With ZigBee you usually do not need to "remove" the devices, they can usually be reset and work from there. But either way, good to hear it is working.
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

 

Page created in 0.12 seconds with 20 queries.

bottleneck