bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: Almond3 - Burglar Alarm Functionality when Internet Connection is Offline  (Read 580 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jukka69

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 07/08/2017
Having gone through technical documentation and so on, not sure how effective Burglar Alarm system Almond3 can be? Have not purchased one yet, but it looks one of the best on the market for Connected Alarm System / Home Automation.

Few questions that I have not been able to find the answer.

1. Can Almond 3 operate as Burglar alarm if there is no internet connection? I.e can the user Arm (Away), Arm (Stay), Disarm the system via the Almond3 screen or an additonal keypad or keyfob? If no internet is connected, when system is armed, and e.g. movement is detected, can it activate the siren and other alarm actions?

2. iOS/Android App, can it have Arm(Away), Arm(Stay), Disarm buttons - cannot find many example screencaps for the Almond3.

3. Can Almond3 be used as SmartHome hub only and not as a router. I have already a router with multiple VPN and VoIP setups, so rather would leave it on.

4. Does the Amazon Alexa work in the UK?

Thank you very much for your help.


Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1850
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYears
The Almond 3 works as a DIY security system. I use it as such myself.
To answer your specific questions:
1) Yes. Almond 3 is self contained. All the rules and such (door opens when away, trigger alarm) are contained in the device and need no cloud connection. The internet connection is for when you are away from the network itself.
2) Android most definitely can (I do not have Apple). Setting the Home or Away mode is right on the dashboard of the app. It can also be set using HA Rules and network devices (ex: when our phones join the network, usually in the driveway, it switches from Away to Home mode and vice versa).
3) Yes. Simplest is just to leave it as a router that nothing connects to (or for a guest network) or as a range extender.
4) Sorry, do not know this one. Not in the UK.
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

Offline jukka69

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 07/08/2017
Thank you very much for your advice. Looks like a very good system. Now just need to get one!

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1850
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYears
There are two things to be aware of with it for DIY security:
1) The Almond relies on the sensor to send it information. It does not automatically poll. So if a sensor stops working without notifying the Almond it was running low on battery or tampered with, the Almond will not know.
2) The Almond itself has no battery backup. So if power goes out nothing will happen and will know about nothing that happened while it was off. This can be helped by plugging it into a UPS though. I enjoyed having network access last week when we lost power (but not Internet) twice last week.
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

Offline RichardS

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 28
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 19/11/2016
    Years
I have asked for an internal battery to be part of the next iteration of the Almond series. Verizon has a proprietary version of the CR18650 battery in it's 3G/4G modem intended for home use. So, an Almond used with that kind of modem would be resistant to power loss. I also asked them for two WAN ports, a primary and a secondary, so that one could have a 3G/4G modem as a backup.

Offline jukka69

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 07/08/2017
Is there a way in Almond to setup
Arm (Away) - OK front screen on app
Home - OK front screen on app
Arm (Home) - ??

Arm (Home) activating part of the sensors providing e.g. downstairs security when sleeping.

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1850
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYears
Not presently. There is no Arm (Home). I get around it by having certain Rules trigger the alarm... Like windows open in the evening. So workarounds are possible.
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

Offline mparadis

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1539
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYears
I have asked for an internal battery to be part of the next iteration of the Almond series. Verizon has a proprietary version of the CR18650 battery in it's 3G/4G modem intended for home use. So, an Almond used with that kind of modem would be resistant to power loss. I also asked them for two WAN ports, a primary and a secondary, so that one could have a 3G/4G modem as a backup.

https://www.securifi.com/almond-guard5 - Not yet released

Offline marcw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 29/07/2017
Re: Almond3 - Burglar Alarm Functionality when Internet Connection is Offline
« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2017, 09:25:17 pm »


Few questions that I have not been able to find the answer.

3. Can Almond3 be used as SmartHome hub only and not as a router. I have already a router with multiple VPN and VoIP setups, so rather would leave it on.


Yes, with some difficulty - you can even have a proper mesh network.

My main router is a DrayTek 2830, which has multi-NAT, VOIP, VPN etc.
I have my primary Almond connected (wired) to it. 

The trick is to set up the primary fully, get the two subnets communicating, and then add in extra Almonds.

My setup is like this:

  • DryTek on 192.168.1.1
  • Almond on 192.168.2.1
  • Router configured in Static mode, wired connection, IP address 192.168.1.200/24, default gateway 192.168.1.1
  • [Static route on DrayTek configured to 192.168.1.200 as gateway (destination 192,168.2.0, subnet 255.255.255.0)
  • Static route on Almond configured to point back to 192.168.1.1 for WAN and for 192.168.1.0/24

Then you set up the Almond wifi , DHCP, names etc.  When all is working to and fro, then add additional Almonds to create the mesh.   8)
« Last Edit: September 14, 2017, 09:28:59 pm by marcw »

 

Page created in 0.047 seconds with 17 queries.

bottleneck