Choose style:

Author Topic: Can I connect an Almond to the ethernet port on my cable modem?  (Read 756 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Arcionquad

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 18/10/2017
    Years
Can I connect an Almond to the ethernet port on my cable modem?
« on: February 17, 2018, 03:15:53 pm »
I want to use my new Almond as an access point, but the modem has the only unused ethernet port in the house.  (The router is almost inaccessible.)  I am already using an older Almond as an access point, but it is plugged in to a standard ethernet port on the wall.  Can I just plug in the new Almond (ethernet to WAN) in the same way?

Offline mparadis

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1671
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Can I connect an Almond to the ethernet port on my cable modem?
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2018, 01:36:52 pm »
I think I know what you are asking but I would it would be worth getting a cheap switch to add additional ports in a different location.

Offline Arcionquad

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 18/10/2017
    Years
Re: Can I connect an Almond to the ethernet port on my cable modem?
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2018, 05:04:40 pm »
I think I know what you are asking but I would it would be worth getting a cheap switch to add additional ports in a different location.

Thank you.  I didn't know.

 

Page created in 0.096 seconds with 18 queries.

bottleneck