bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: Smoke detectors comptaible with Almond3  (Read 98 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Fetapreston

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 28/07/2017
    Years
Smoke detectors comptaible with Almond3
« on: November 27, 2018, 01:18:56 pm »
Where can I get smoke detectors that are compatible with Almond 3 and can connect as a sensor?

Thanks

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2009
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Smoke detectors comptaible with Almond3
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2018, 06:18:12 pm »
Nest Protect can be linked... But cannot work as a sensor because of Nest.

Halo used to work, but they just recently went out of business.

Not sure about others.
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

Offline mparadis

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1739
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Smoke detectors comptaible with Almond3
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2018, 08:29:45 pm »
What do you mean as a sensor? I use the z wave smoke and CO combo alarms from first alert and so far have been successful as far as I know. When I test them they show up and when I had a smoke issue in my kitchen the other day it went off. Also I get battery percentage updates periodically.

Offline Kinggovernator

  • Almond 3 Beta
  • *
  • Posts: 88
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 23/02/2017
    Years
Re: Smoke detectors comptaible with Almond3
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2018, 02:40:26 am »
I also have 2 of the first alert smoke/CO detectors. They seem to work, and report battery percentages like mparadis stated

Offline mparadis

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 1739
  • Thanks: 3
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Smoke detectors comptaible with Almond3
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2018, 07:34:29 am »
Mine seem to be working like I said but they don't provide any other statuses if that is what is meant as sensor. They don't have temperature or anything like that.

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2009
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Smoke detectors comptaible with Almond3
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2018, 09:49:03 am »
When Nest Protect came out I was really pleased because Securifi had all the sensors those had displayed and able to be used for Rules. Then Nest changed their policy and restricted companies from doing that... So that was a bummer.

The Halo was another, pretty awesome sounding, one. Multiple sensors plus a controllable RGB light ring. Looked decent, but support never really got added so I was never able to use it fully. Really too bad they went out of business. If full support had been added I would buy up the remainder of them locally and be happy for the years until they need to be replaced.

If you find something interesting, let us know. A smoke detector is usually in a good spot for motion, temperature, humidity, and air quality sensing. All those things can help for a smart detector in the first place.
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

 

Page created in 0.069 seconds with 21 queries.

bottleneck