Securifi Community Forum

Securifi Products => Almond+ => Topic started by: ShinDestinyZero on August 22, 2014, 11:38:36 pm

Title: VLAN tagging
Post by: ShinDestinyZero on August 22, 2014, 11:38:36 pm
I just received my Almond+ yesterday and I'm in the midst of configuring my Internet. My ISP requires me to do VLAN tagging but in the OpenWRT UI, I can't find the Switch tab under Network option.

Is there a way to enable this or wait for Securifi to release a newer firmware which enables this option? Without this, my Almond+ won't be able to connect to the Internet.

Any solutions to this?
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: LGNilsson on August 22, 2014, 11:48:45 pm
I'm afraid I don't have an answer for you right now, but I've brought it to the attention of the software team.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: ShinDestinyZero on August 22, 2014, 11:55:10 pm
Noted. Please let us, the community, know about this once there's an answer.

I saw some tutorials on the net that there's an option to configure VLANs but I was unable to find it anywhere on the Almond+.

I've attached an image as shown below for easy reference.

(http://blog.namran.net/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/vlan-setting-unifi.png)
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: LGNilsson on August 23, 2014, 12:04:34 am
Your picture doesn't seem to work.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: The19th on August 23, 2014, 12:11:02 am
I went to the linked site, which showed zero search results.  I did find some other pictures that mentioned VLAN (Beyond my understanding)

http://blog.namran.net/2012/08/05/setting-up-openwrt-to-work-with-tm-unifi/

I also noticed that blog has screen shots from OpenWRT-Backfire
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: ShinDestinyZero on August 23, 2014, 12:15:19 am
@Lars That's odd. It worked when it is in preview post. But you can refer to @The19th post. Thanks btw.

This is the direct link to the picture. You can refer to this as well.
http://blog.namran.net/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/vlan-setting-unifi-1024x545.png

Sorry about the problem.

P/S: I noticed that sometimes the forum can display the picture and most of the time no. I don't know why. Just now when I refreshed the page, it did show the picture. Weird.

For my country's ISP, I need to configure to VLAN 500 and 600 respectively. 500 is for the internet and 600 is for IPTV. Without those options, my Almond+ can only be used as an AP.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: LGNilsson on August 23, 2014, 12:42:11 am
All I see is "Sorry The Post Have Been Removed".
The link The19th provided worked though.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: ShinDestinyZero on August 23, 2014, 04:17:52 am
@Lars I've tried the link too. Now it doesn't work. I guess the site don't allow such redirection. During the creation of that post, it worked though.
Then just refer to The19th's link. Let us know if there's any solutions to this. I do think there are people out there who are interested in these settings.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: madfozi on August 24, 2014, 08:06:00 pm
good having fellow unifi user here.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: ShinDestinyZero on August 25, 2014, 01:33:35 am
@madfozi you are unifi user too? Got any solutions to share for this? If can load config file, I'm also happy with it as long as can use.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: Etherknight on August 26, 2014, 07:17:08 pm
Hi All,

I got mine today and I struggled with the same issue. My ISP requires VLAN6 for WAN in order to work, since the ONT is configured by the ISP that way.
I tried adding a custom NW interface in WLAN physical settings as eth0.6 and the interface is correctly added to the list as VLAN interface, but no matter what I do I can't keep it selected and the internet connection never happen.
I've read for OpenWRT the way to set VLAN is by Network - Switch setting, but that option is not yet available and the package that adds it, swconfig, is not available for download either (I've read in another post that currently all supported packages are already included, so there is no option for additional package downloads).

I guess the problem would be solved by adding that "swconfig" package to Almond+, but please let us know if there is an alternative way to do this.

Thanks in advance for your support!

Best regards,
Ether
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: ShinDestinyZero on August 26, 2014, 11:09:47 pm
@Etherknight Thanks for the input. I was about to do that. It seems that you beat me to it.

It seems that by adding the interface alone, the problem is still present if the firmware doesn't recognize it.  :(

I've emailed this issue to Securifi few days ago and they told me that the feature will be implemented but they don't have an exact date. I guess we'll have to wait and see.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: madfozi on August 31, 2014, 04:23:43 am
Hi @ShinDestinyZero. I don't think we can use it until securify add openwrt vlan tagging features. as of now i am still pairing with unifi router.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: ShinDestinyZero on August 31, 2014, 12:31:30 pm
@madfozi I see. Then I guess we have no choice but to wait for the next firmware update. Good to know that I'm not alone.  ;D
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: DaMubbster on September 01, 2014, 05:56:54 am
Just to add to this here in NZ all the new fiber and VDSL connections require VLAN 10.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: skchua on September 13, 2014, 09:22:40 am
My ISP needs VLAN tagging to be supported by router too. Hope this gets supported with the next firmware upgrade.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: Ashok on September 13, 2014, 11:33:53 am
Hi Skchua,

I am afraid to tell you that the upcoming firmware wouldn't support VLAN tagging yet, however, our concerned team is aware and they are working on it and it may take time to implement it with our future firmware.

Thanks,
Ashok Kumar,
Securifi Technical Support
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: daniel.teran on September 25, 2014, 06:45:03 am
One more who needs VLAN tagging !!!

 >:(
Title: Missing Features
Post by: BenAlexander on September 29, 2014, 06:51:00 am
I've received my Almond+ and it looks fantastic... At this stage, I can only comment on the looks, as I can't actually use it :(

In the original kickstarter, it mentioned that VLANs were supported. Having received it and updated the firmware, this doesn't appear to be true.
I understand things changed between then and now, it is a very different product to what was originally offered (and I thank you for the hardware upgrades), I just wanted to know when VLANs will be supported. Hopefully it is on the roadmap, but if it isn't, could you let everybody know.

Hopefully you guys can fix this in the short term, and whilst you are looking at it, perhaps you could also consider enabling jumbo frames?

... What about everybody else. Are there any other basic switching or routing features that you are missing from the Almond+ ?
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: LGNilsson on September 29, 2014, 07:41:28 am
Topics merged.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: BenAlexander on September 29, 2014, 07:51:43 am
Happy with the merge, but any chance of an update?
I love the idea of the Almond+ but if it won't support VLANs for a while, I'll need to give it away and buy another device I can use.

Cheers
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: LGNilsson on September 29, 2014, 07:54:46 am
Well, these things takes time to implement, but we're aware that it's a feature that's needed for many and it's something we'll be adding, but it's not going to be in the next firmware.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: m_g_s_g on October 16, 2014, 08:18:00 am
Any news about that issue? Many FTTH offerings seem to use VLAN tagging...

According to this thread http://forum.securifi.com/index.php/topic,1106.0.html (http://forum.securifi.com/index.php/topic,1106.0.html), it seems that CB got additional openwrt packages to compile and run, but they don't work anymore for firmware 066... I'm using another router with openwrt right now with lan tagging working (eth0.6). Being able to compile and run swconfig by ourselves would be another possible solution...

Regards.
EDIT: Did somebody try swconfig from the unofficial repo? : http://repo.ansible.org/r1/g2/Packages/
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: LGNilsson on October 23, 2014, 03:02:43 am
We're looking into how to do this, but I don't have an ETA.
What wasn't clear to us for one was that this is required not only to get a service, but also for things like VoIP and IP TV services to work.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: m_g_s_g on October 23, 2014, 06:25:06 pm
Good to know that you are looking into it. At least in my case, for now I don't care if I don't have VoIP or TV, but PPoE Internet access is another story...
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: LGNilsson on October 23, 2014, 09:08:43 pm
You have FTTH and have to use PPPoE? Now I'm seriously confused... Who's your service provider?
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: frostmeta on October 23, 2014, 10:34:13 pm
You have FTTH and have to use PPPoE? Now I'm seriously confused... Who's your service provider?

I'm in the same boat as he is and I also require PPPoE to connect. This is the specific guide I would be using in regards to my ISP to setup the router http://ngpixel.com/2014/07/19/how-to-bypass-bell-fibe-hub-and-use-your-own-router/ (http://ngpixel.com/2014/07/19/how-to-bypass-bell-fibe-hub-and-use-your-own-router/). My isp is Bell in Ontario, Canada.

I can connect with PPPoE without VLAN tagging but then I get maybe 10% of my full connection speed.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: LGNilsson on October 23, 2014, 11:32:31 pm
That's really odd to require PPPoE over FTTH, it seems very backwards and overly complicated, but whatever floats their boat.

We've confirmed that it's doable, now we just need to find out exactly how. We're waiting on a response from Cortina with regards to the exact details, but even once we've gotten that, it's going to take us some time to implement it.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: m_g_s_g on October 26, 2014, 06:08:01 pm
You have FTTH and have to use PPPoE? Now I'm seriously confused... Who's your service provider?
My ISP is Movistar (Telefonica) in Spain...
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: divpower on October 27, 2014, 03:58:06 am
Same here  ;D
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: wayne on October 30, 2014, 12:31:48 am
Hi Skchua,

I am afraid to tell you that the upcoming firmware wouldn't support VLAN tagging yet, however, our concerned team is aware and they are working on it and it may take time to implement it with our future firmware.

Thanks,
Ashok Kumar,
Securifi Technical Support

Ashok,

I need VLAN and many more others too. I can't use my Almond+ at all unless VLAN is support. Do you guys have a timeframe for VLAN to be included in a firmware upgrade? I can't wait till another year till the warranty on my almond+ has finish before VLAN is enabled. I have raise up about this on your kickstarter updates, but it has fallen into deaf ears.

The longer u guys drag this, the nearer my warranty gonna expires. Please, my red almond+ is collecting another inch of dust sitting inside it's box.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: LGNilsson on October 30, 2014, 02:58:12 am
This isn't going to happen over night, but it's something we'll be adding, I just can't say when.
It's not something that takes five minutes to do and we need to get our chipset partners involved to get this implemented.

Your Almond+ is far from useless, as you can still set it up as an access point and use it like that in combination with your current router. It might not be the ideal usage scenario, but it'll at least enable you to use your Almond+.

I don't really understand the warranty concern, or what that has to do with anything in this case.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: wayne on November 05, 2014, 05:43:57 am
Lars, I fully understand and not expecting for you guys to implement it overnight, I'm just saying is there any timeline to it because your previous reply given was to give you guys some time and some time could mean I don't know 1,3 or 6 months? Given the track record of the almond+ been shipped to us backers. At least give some little hope like saying Dec 14 or Q1 15.

I've thought of running it as AP mode, not idea like you said cos there's already a SamKnow device(which is a router with custom firmware) hooking up to my main router, with my IPTV set top box, PS4 and HTPC. Imagine the mess :'(

Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: Etherknight on December 01, 2014, 05:18:30 pm
Hope to see this implemented soon so we can ditch the router that is just adding the VLAN support, could be a cool christmas gift   ;)
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: LGNilsson on December 02, 2014, 10:41:10 pm
The problem is that we need to work with the chipset vendor to make this happen and inasmuch as they've told us it can be done, they haven't really told us how to do it, yet. Considering it's holiday season now, don't expect any news for at least a month or two  :-\
I'm trying to push for this and many other things, but I'm sorry to say, you guys are still a small minority of our backers/customers overall and as such this isn't highest priority. It's not that we're not going to do this, as we understand it's an important feature.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: Etherknight on December 06, 2014, 07:38:07 am
Thanks Lars,

I understand there are other priorities and for sure securifi should invest the effort in fixing/implementing features that affect most users. Hope you receive proper support from chipset vendor soon.

Best regards,
Ether
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: Etherknight on February 23, 2015, 04:08:36 pm
Any news about this? It's been 2 months since last post, some more since we opened this post requesting support for this.
It would be good to have a plan on when will it be fixed. The excuse of the first months on focusing on bigger issues affectingmore people is fading now and also with the launch of new products like Almond 2015.
Securifi should finish what started and provide a finished product. If there is not enough manpower to finish Almond+ then Almond 2015 should have never happen.

I'm a patient guy, but everything have limits.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: brantflick on February 24, 2015, 08:41:22 am
According to that help guide you posted sometime back (http://blog.ngpixel.com/post/104449747538/how-to-bypass-bell-fibe-hub-and-use-your-own-router), why not simply put a device in the place of the switch (either a managed switch or a router running DD-WRT or Tomato or OpenWRT) that can provide the necessary vLan tagging?  It doesn't need to happen on the Almond+ in the configuration provided in the tutorial linked.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: Etherknight on February 26, 2015, 06:47:28 pm
That is actually the workaround i have to do in order to use the Almond+, but there should be no need to do such thing as the Almond+ is an OpenWRT router itself!
Now I need to have 1 device plugged in 24/7 just to do the VLAN thing the Almond+ can't do.  The funny thing is that if you visit the product page of Almond+, it literaly says "One-Box to do it all", well for now I neeed 2 boxes to do it all.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: wayne on March 04, 2015, 01:25:59 am
According to that help guide you posted sometime back (http://blog.ngpixel.com/post/104449747538/how-to-bypass-bell-fibe-hub-and-use-your-own-router), why not simply put a device in the place of the switch (either a managed switch or a router running DD-WRT or Tomato or OpenWRT) that can provide the necessary vLan tagging?  It doesn't need to happen on the Almond+ in the configuration provided in the tutorial linked.

You don't get it, what's the point of adding extra devices to make something work when Almond+ suppose to be the all-in-one router, not forgetting sucking up more electricity and contribute more CO2.

I did ask about VLAN back in Kickstarter, they replied saying it should work because it has Open-WRT built into Almond+. But right now they say VLAN isn't a priority and they needed time, but well time passed for quite a while and I almost been seen like an impatient dude for asking for a timeframe for a feature that is suppose to be included in my router.

My Almond+ is still in its box, I think I need to return the unit back..for now. Will buy back maybe one day when VLAN is configurable in the near distant future.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: Oletros on March 10, 2015, 11:47:31 am
It seems that it will never be VLAN tagging in the Almond+

Right now, I can't use it because my ISP needs VLAN tagging. Perhaps it should have been a better thing to say in the Kickstarter page that it wasn't supported instead of explicitly saying that VLAN tagging would be in the product. Perhaps I would have been saved the 150 euros I spent in that brick.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: teuna on March 13, 2015, 06:57:24 am
Hi guys,

As i said before, i'm looking for 2 European bricks ?
Would you mind selling 2 of those to me ?

What colors do you have ?
I'd buy them at Kickstarter price.
I'd of course py for the shipping (I'm in France).

Please PM if interested.

NAt
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: accordfreak on June 04, 2015, 04:42:05 pm
4 months has passed. any updates on vlan?
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: jjoepaulines on June 15, 2015, 11:01:51 pm
Now We are planning to add VLAN support in Almond Plus. I would like to collect the information regarding customer expectation about VLAN in Almond plus.

Please add your comments here .....
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: jomasego on June 16, 2015, 12:03:23 pm
In the case of Spanish people, whose ISP is Movistar (the very biggest one), we need to be able to set what's in the attached photos (OpenWRT)
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: SecureComp on June 16, 2015, 02:23:24 pm
Now We are planning to add VLAN support in Almond Plus. I would like to collect the information regarding customer expectation about VLAN in Almond plus.

Please add your comments here .....

FOLKS SPEAK UP !!
Securifi is asking for input on VLANs
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: jrwhitehead on June 17, 2015, 04:53:11 am
Full implementation of 802.1q on all ports.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: tacain on June 17, 2015, 01:37:11 pm
Full implementation of 802.1q on all ports.

Agreed!!
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: ShinDestinyZero on June 18, 2015, 03:32:46 am
Now We are planning to add VLAN support in Almond Plus. I would like to collect the information regarding customer expectation about VLAN in Almond plus.

Please add your comments here .....
Finally!!! I checked in at the right moment.

@Lars That's odd. It worked when it is in preview post. But you can refer to @The19th post. Thanks btw.

This is the direct link to the picture. You can refer to this as well.
http://blog.namran.net/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/vlan-setting-unifi-1024x545.png

Sorry about the problem.

P/S: I noticed that sometimes the forum can display the picture and most of the time no. I don't know why. Just now when I refreshed the page, it did show the picture. Weird.

For my country's ISP, I need to configure to VLAN 500 and 600 respectively. 500 is for the internet and 600 is for IPTV. Without those options, my Almond+ can only be used as an AP.

Refer to this previous post I posted since I first got the router. You can refer to this link for more info -> http://blog.namran.net/2012/08/05/setting-up-openwrt-to-work-with-tm-unifi/

I hope this helps. Those are the settings I need for setting up my internet connection.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: razzfazz on June 18, 2015, 11:03:07 pm
Please add the ability to move the guest network to a separate VLAN; without this, that feature is basically useless in access point mode.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: Etherknight on June 19, 2015, 06:36:47 pm
As others here, I need VLAN support in order to connect the ALmond+ directly to the ONT of my ISP. This ONT only accepts traffic from a specific VLAN (VLAN 6 for data, VLAN 3 for VoIP), ignoring all untagged traffic.
Since Almond+ doesn't support VLAN tagging now, I need to keep the router provided by my ISP between ALmond+ and the ONT, being its work only to tag all traffic from ALmond+ as VLAN 6.

If you finally implement this Almond+ will start becoming a router.

It will be awesome if someday we can get an OpenWRT version in which we could install the features we need.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: jjoepaulines on June 19, 2015, 10:39:50 pm
 I'm still watching all comments  :)
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: jjoepaulines on June 26, 2015, 08:28:44 am
I would like to know who are all ready to be as a beta tester for testing VLAN feature in Almond Plus.

If you're interested, please send a PM to joe.john@securifi.com
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: ChillyPenguin on July 01, 2015, 04:01:47 pm
Full implementation of 802.1q on all ports.

+1
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: madfozi on July 03, 2015, 08:55:28 am
:: I am not a network expert, but for VLAN i am referring for this site http://klseet.com/index.php/12-dd-wrt/dd-wrt-setup/72-unifi-dd-wrt-vlan-tagging
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: na2f on July 22, 2015, 09:53:53 pm
if we use the DDWRT, can it enable the VLAN function? :D
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: zj4x4 on July 25, 2015, 05:18:55 pm
Another vote for VLAN support.  I need to so that I can use my CenturyLink service without a device between their ONT and the A+.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: ShinDestinyZero on December 04, 2015, 01:40:17 am
I would like to know who are all ready to be as a beta tester for testing VLAN feature in Almond Plus.

If you're interested, please send a PM to joe.john@securifi.com
Any updates on this issue? My Almond is sitting in the closet for a very long time already.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: Ashok on December 04, 2015, 10:04:10 am
@ ShinDestinyZero,

Any updates on this issue? My Almond is sitting in the closet for a very long time already.

We tried our best to implement the full 802.1q VLAN support, unfortunately, because of our hardware limitation, we were not able to isolate the ports based on VLAN ID. However, if your ISP needs tagged traffic from your Almond+, we can do it and got the firmware ready which is still in experimental steage. HA stuff doesn't work with it yet, if any one is interested to test it, then please do send an email to ashok.kumar@securifi.com.

Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: razzfazz on December 06, 2015, 07:53:02 pm
So it's just not happening, then? This had been an advertised feature since as far back as the original Kickstarter campaign (https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/2037429657/almond-80211ac-touchscreen-wifi-router-smart-home/description), where it's still listed today:

Quote
Router Features

Control settings through Touchscreen or Web Interface
Gateway, Bridge, Access Point and Range Extender Modes
2.4GHz + 5GHz or 2.4GHz Only or 5GHz only
Wireless Security - Open, WEP, WPA, WPA2, WPA/WPA2-Enterprise
Multiple SSIDs upto 4 per each band
VLANs, Port Forwarding, Port Filtering, Firewall, DMZ, QOS
VPN, Samba Server (USB Storage/Printers)
DLNA Streaming, UPnP
Upgrade firmware without needing a PC or Mac

Pretty sure at least some of the highlighted no-show features were also advertised on the Almond+ product page at least as late as the pre-order phase (tho have since been removed).

Disappointing.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: tacain on December 10, 2015, 10:23:21 am
Pretty bad.  VLAN tagging is not anything esoteric.  It is a basic networking capability.  If the hardware cannot support it properly, Securifi should either replace our hardware or provide a full refund.  This is now just a bad joke.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: ShinDestinyZero on December 14, 2015, 11:57:14 pm
@ ShinDestinyZero,

We tried our best to implement the full 802.1q VLAN support, unfortunately, because of our hardware limitation, we were not able to isolate the ports based on VLAN ID. However, if your ISP needs tagged traffic from your Almond+, we can do it and got the firmware ready which is still in experimental steage. HA stuff doesn't work with it yet, if any one is interested to test it, then please do send an email to ashok.kumar@securifi.com.
I see. Well, HA is a bonus for me since I have zero sensors in the house. The most important thing is this router is able to replace my current one. I can help to test but it's gonna take me a while to setup since I forgot most of the things about it already. I'll send you an email shortly.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: Oletros on December 18, 2015, 10:22:07 am
@ ShinDestinyZero,

We tried our best to implement the full 802.1q VLAN support, unfortunately, because of our hardware limitation, we were not able to isolate the ports based on VLAN ID. However, if your ISP needs tagged traffic from your Almond+, we can do it and got the firmware ready which is still in experimental steage. HA stuff doesn't work with it yet, if any one is interested to test it, then please do send an email to ashok.kumar@securifi.com.

I bought an Almond+ because you explicitly said that VLAN tagging would be supported the day it was delivered. Thanks for making me wastying a lot of money because you promised something you didn't knew it could be possible.

What a waste of money and time that this router has been
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: Etherknight on December 26, 2015, 09:40:07 pm
I'm interested in giving it a try, I don't have any HA installed yet and VLAN is a priority for me. I'm guessing it is not included in R83.
I'll mail you.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: Oletros on May 12, 2016, 11:01:27 am
Well, with the today email I have received it seems that VLAN will never be implemented, so it makes useless to replace my actual router.

And then they say "Weve always made customer service a top priority."

Yes, sure, you have played with use promising it
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: Ashok on May 12, 2016, 11:55:34 am
@ Oletros,

Well, with the today email I have received it seems that VLAN will never be implemented, so it makes useless to replace my actual router.

And then they say "Weve always made customer service a top priority."

Yes, sure, you have played with use promising it

I am sorry, but we did try our best to add the support for VLAN, however, our chipset vendor could not assist us on this.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: Oletros on May 12, 2016, 12:36:55 pm
No, you didn't do your best. You explicitly promised for years that it would be developed.

If I spent more than 150 euro in this thing is because Securifi promised us that. Finnaly I had to buy an Asus router that did the job, your "marvelous" router was just a waste of time and money because they didn't the job you promised

Don't tell us that your priority is the customer, you has been playing with us form more than three years.  And don't blame the chipset maker. The ones promising were you, not them
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: d.kiran on May 12, 2016, 01:17:50 pm
@Oletros - I  understand your frustration. I am a backer too.

I think there are a lot of features that were promised to them by the Chipset vendor who got acquired and stopped supporting the chipset. In these cases Securifi has very little option. We are still on a pretty old version of OpenWRT again due to that.

I think there are plenty of things Securifi has done wrong, but this one at least, it was out of Securifi's control.
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: razzfazz on May 17, 2016, 02:54:01 am
I think there are plenty of things Securifi has done wrong, but this one at least, it was out of Securifi's control.

One could argue that the decision to tie themselves so completely to a fairly niche chipset that's supported by a single, fairly small vendor (and in particular not supported by upstream OpenWRT at all) was very much in their control (and in retrospect obviously a really bad idea).
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: d.kiran on May 17, 2016, 10:54:16 am
and in retrospect obviously a really bad idea

I agree. Hindsight really is 20/20
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: Rrnworks on November 22, 2016, 02:01:29 am
What is the excuse for no vlan tag support then for the almond 3?  New chipset but nothing else new...
Title: Re: VLAN tagging
Post by: spooky123 on November 26, 2016, 08:44:23 am
What is the excuse for no vlan tag support then for the almond 3?  New chipset but nothing else new...

Where did you find the information on the chipset in the Almond 3 ? What chipset is it?