Choose style:

Author Topic: Monoprice Garage Door Sensor - adding sensor  (Read 2399 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bebopblues

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 29
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 19/02/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Monoprice Garage Door Sensor - adding sensor
« on: April 05, 2016, 04:40:37 am »
When adding the sensor, everything seems to work until the step where it asks to choose the sensor type, which I chose Door Sensor. On the instruction that came with it, it says the LED should stay on, but on my sensor, the LED turns off. It doesn't seem to be sending "OPENED" or "CLOSED" signals, the status of the sensor never changes no matter if the sensor is tilted horizontal or vertical.

For those that has it working, is the LED suppose to turn off? Normally, is the LED "ON" during operation? Or do I have a defective unit?

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2060
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Monoprice Garage Door Sensor - adding sensor
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2016, 10:10:45 am »
I do not have one, but the manual says you should see the LED flash when it tries to communicate a state change (open/close). The on part is after inclusion, but before you put the cover back on.

Some sensors will not report a change while they have their cover open (other than the tamper warning). I would try closing it all up and checking then.
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

Offline bebopblues

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 29
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 19/02/2015
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Monoprice Garage Door Sensor - adding sensor
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2016, 03:16:23 am »
The cover might have been it or I have it mounted upside down, either way, it is working now.

Offline fillibar

  • Backer
  • *
  • Posts: 2060
  • Thanks: 4
  • Registered : 02/08/2013
    YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
Re: Monoprice Garage Door Sensor - adding sensor
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2016, 07:45:44 am »
Glad it is working. I would like a garage sensor. But just have not gotten one yet. Odd considering all the other stuff... Oh well.
Almond 3 mesh handling the home.

 

Page created in 0.051 seconds with 21 queries.

bottleneck