bottleneck
Choose style:

Author Topic: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen  (Read 7202 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline anwar.shiekh

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 99
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 06/12/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen
« Reply #45 on: March 28, 2019, 02:34:23 am »
I replaced the main poly fuse with a bigger one.  No more lookups or white screens since then.

Any details?

Offline tvpccr

  • Peanut
  • **
  • Posts: 16
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 09/09/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen [SOLVED FOR ME]
« Reply #46 on: April 01, 2019, 10:07:55 am »
Its been summer where I live and my main router was in our upstairs which gets warmer than the rest of the house. This problem had been on going and annoying- I did the PC case fan to USB, and plugged it in to the USB port on the A3, placing the fan under. I have had 100% success. Not a single white screen or lock up since, and we are going on 2 months.

I used this as the guide:
https://www.instructables.com/id/How-To-Convert-A-Case-Fan-To-USB/

I have one other A3 downstairs that is next to a PS4 and ChromeBox that does this once in a blue moon- It was such a simple solution that I am probably going to put another one there. 

Offline punkorambo

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 44
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 24/11/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen
« Reply #47 on: April 08, 2019, 07:29:05 pm »
I replaced the main poly fuse with a bigger one.  No more lookups or white screens since then.

@pabpoo. Any details on this would be great. Had a hot day today and my main A3 locked up twice three times so far.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2019, 08:02:39 pm by punkorambo »

Offline anwar.shiekh

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 99
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 06/12/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen
« Reply #48 on: April 09, 2019, 02:41:42 am »
First warm day of Spring and my Almond 3 also went 'white screen of death'; Summer is going to be MUCH hotter.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2019, 04:15:20 pm by anwar.shiekh »

Offline anwar.shiekh

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 99
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 06/12/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen
« Reply #49 on: April 11, 2019, 02:15:16 pm »
Here is a picture of the fuse in question.

« Last Edit: May 18, 2019, 12:32:36 am by anwar.shiekh »

Offline punkorambo

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 44
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 24/11/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen
« Reply #50 on: April 11, 2019, 04:37:48 pm »
Could you please take a picture of what it looks like after your replaced the fuse?

Offline anwar.shiekh

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 99
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 06/12/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen
« Reply #51 on: April 11, 2019, 04:48:33 pm »
Even though I have some PTC fuses on the way, I have decided for now to just short across the fuse on the board.

I am now running with the fuse bridged and await the Summer to see if the Almond 3 can now take the heat.

« Last Edit: May 18, 2019, 12:34:29 am by anwar.shiekh »

Offline anwar.shiekh

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 99
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 06/12/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen
« Reply #52 on: April 15, 2019, 09:47:09 pm »
Room again reached 73F, white screen of death with the PTC fuse bridged; so it is not the fuse.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2019, 04:40:18 pm by anwar.shiekh »

Offline punkorambo

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 44
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 24/11/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen
« Reply #53 on: April 16, 2019, 10:38:10 am »
I decided to start with the easy USB fan approach. I have it plugged right into the A3 and blowing on it. So far so good.

Offline anwar.shiekh

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 99
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 06/12/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen [SOLVED]
« Reply #54 on: April 16, 2019, 10:42:16 pm »
Got the solution from Securifi, a bad capacitor (0805, X5R, 10μF, 6.3V) see attached picture for placement; the problem is that the capacitor is just 3 mm long and so quite challenging to replace. The 'white screen of death' seems related to the hot boot problem whereby the unit needs to cool down before it starts to reboot and the delay can be as long as 5 minutes.

After replacing the capacitor the reboot delay is gone and so far no 'white screen of death'

I recommend against trying this repair and take no responsibility for work gone wrong.

The hot boot delay is the fastest way to test to see if there is an issue; get up to heat (wait half an hour), disconnect and reconnect, the boot process should start right away.

« Last Edit: May 18, 2019, 12:27:56 am by anwar.shiekh »

 

Page created in 0.047 seconds with 21 queries.