Choose style:

Author Topic: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen  (Read 6446 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline anwar.shiekh

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 06/12/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen
« Reply #45 on: March 28, 2019, 02:34:23 am »
I replaced the main poly fuse with a bigger one.  No more lookups or white screens since then.

Any details?

Offline tvpccr

  • Peanut
  • **
  • Posts: 16
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 09/09/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen [SOLVED FOR ME]
« Reply #46 on: April 01, 2019, 10:07:55 am »
Its been summer where I live and my main router was in our upstairs which gets warmer than the rest of the house. This problem had been on going and annoying- I did the PC case fan to USB, and plugged it in to the USB port on the A3, placing the fan under. I have had 100% success. Not a single white screen or lock up since, and we are going on 2 months.

I used this as the guide:
https://www.instructables.com/id/How-To-Convert-A-Case-Fan-To-USB/

I have one other A3 downstairs that is next to a PS4 and ChromeBox that does this once in a blue moon- It was such a simple solution that I am probably going to put another one there. 

Offline punkorambo

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 37
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 24/11/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen
« Reply #47 on: April 08, 2019, 07:29:05 pm »
I replaced the main poly fuse with a bigger one.  No more lookups or white screens since then.

@pabpoo. Any details on this would be great. Had a hot day today and my main A3 locked up twice three times so far.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2019, 08:02:39 pm by punkorambo »

Offline anwar.shiekh

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 06/12/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen
« Reply #48 on: April 09, 2019, 02:41:42 am »
First warm day of Spring and my Almond 3 also went 'white screen of death'; Summer is going to be MUCH hotter.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2019, 04:15:20 pm by anwar.shiekh »

Offline anwar.shiekh

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 06/12/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen
« Reply #49 on: April 11, 2019, 02:15:16 pm »
The PTC fuse is 1.5A 12V and I have decided to go with a non surface mounted version so it stays off the board and so cooler. Login to see a picture of the fuses I think to try and the original fuse location.

The 2015 and A1A Almonds seem to use this off board type.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2019, 10:19:16 pm by anwar.shiekh »

Offline punkorambo

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 37
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 24/11/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen
« Reply #50 on: April 11, 2019, 04:37:48 pm »
Could you please take a picture of what it looks like after your replaced the fuse?

Offline anwar.shiekh

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 06/12/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen
« Reply #51 on: April 11, 2019, 04:48:33 pm »
Even though I have some PTC fuses on the way, I have decided for now to just short across the fuse on the board (login to see attached picture).

I am now running with the fuse bridged and await the Summer to see if the Almond 3 can now take the heat.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2019, 10:18:07 pm by anwar.shiekh »

Offline anwar.shiekh

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 06/12/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen
« Reply #52 on: April 15, 2019, 09:47:09 pm »
Room again reached 73F, white screen of death with the PTC fuse bridged; so its not the fuse.

Offline punkorambo

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 37
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 24/11/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen
« Reply #53 on: April 16, 2019, 10:38:10 am »
I decided to start with the easy USB fan approach. I have it plugged right into the A3 and blowing on it. So far so good.

Offline anwar.shiekh

  • Newbie
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
  • Thanks: 0
  • Registered : 06/12/2016
    YearsYearsYears
Re: Almond 3 locks up with blank white screen
« Reply #54 on: April 16, 2019, 10:42:16 pm »
I have decided to try a new approach; the speaker at the bottom blocks quite a lot of the natural air flow and since I actually prefer to have a silent unit I have removed the speaker to see if that solves the overheating issue.

 

Page created in 0.047 seconds with 22 queries.